When Valentine’s Day Is Poetry in an e-book filled with Chalk

Chalk

I was drawing with chalk on the sidewalk unappreciated
thought I saw you peeking behind the corner,
but a sudden rain washed all away,
too many falling sky erasers lately.

When the Sun comes out,
hide where I can find you
in secret sand-castle places
under my blanketed regrets,
surfing for your love
in seaweed long ago washed —
salty youth.

Give yourself away with a giggle, but
wear an adult smile
naked.

Draw me, and
dance where I can see you.

Never too many peek-a-boo days
for sunny buffing stuff,
birthday suited or not.

— Douglas Gilbert

From: Poems of Love Lost and Found

by Douglas Gilbert in the iBookstoresm
*

This book is available for download on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch with iBooks and on your computer with iTunes. Books must be read on an iOS device.

Description

We are glowing with poems because from the journey of a dream I awoke happy, enveloped in you under covers, my Valentine. Enraptured in the blankets of home with you, of you, our embrace is the brightness of us, with us. We are the morning together, together in love. An awakening is here to be for real at home, a peaceful passion, a satisfaction day, not dreaming but being in the lightness of us, with us. We are warm being the morning sun, like banners waving playfully above the river of Love, these extremely rippling, our streaming, child to the river. Ripples of the day, we stream like banners waving playfully above a gentle brook, child to the stream. The child’s babble is joyful enough to be a gurgle in a float-along morning. We splash along, embraced by immersion, the kiss of the day, fantastic and better than a dream.

5 thoughts on “When Valentine’s Day Is Poetry in an e-book filled with Chalk

  1. All day yesterday and this morning i’ve been checking your page reading all your beautiful words. Love them all…Happy Valentine’s day dearest!
    I think i need to go take a shower (giggles) and get dressed now…but i will be back in a bit and will hopefully have a poem…my brain is not doing well putting words together lately. I have too many thoughts flittering about up there and everything feels really excitable for some reason.

    1. Thanks so much. I love your giggles or how I imagine them to be. Sorry I took so long to comment. Happy post Valentine’s day. It sort of takes the romance out of things. I was trying to get on the bandwagon of selling stuff for Valentine’s day — I thought it was an opportunity. Oh, well, it wasn’t. I don’t know what I’m doing. Anyway, I did get in the mail the proof copy they wanted me to buy and it was OK — not great. My front cover photo was fair, the back one was great. But I can’t afford to make any changes because that would require me to buy another copy which I can’t afford. So I approved it and hopefully in 8 weeks it’ll be on Amazon. Maybe they do a better job on Amazon and maybe people are more comfortable ordering from them, but then they raise the price so they can get their cut. It makes it very expensive compared to the major publishers. It’s 326 pages, so it’s finally up to a full size book but it’s nearly double in price compared to popular books printed by regular publishers. I did the usual silly thing: I put in all the old poems and added a few new ones. Maybe next time I should organize by subject and make separate short ones instead of a chronological mixed subject mess. Should be easier next time. I had to redo the old files from my old computer which were in an obsolete format which they don’t accept anymore and transfer them to the new computer. It was a mess.

      1. p.s. I mean the new one is a print book. The Valentine’s Day massacre was an e-book which sold zero. Basically, I think I’d have to get to a famous person for anything to happen. Well, anyway, I can wait another 8 weeks before being disappointed again.

  2. Well i will have to buy one, i like print books. I tried to buy your e-book. It was a catastrophe. I downloaded itunes, then tried to buy the e-book, but i had to add my paypal acct to my itunes acct or something in order to buy. So i did that but when i went back to sign into itunes, it said i was entering the wrong password. So it was supposed to send me a link to my email but the email hasn’t came, also when i try to access it through the security questions it says i’m entering the wrong answer, but i know my date of birth. I still haven’t figured it out, i was thinking i might try to access it again tonight.

  3. I tried again last night. I think itunes is going to drive me nuts. They still never send the email when i request it and say i’m not giving the right birth date. It won’t let me access my account for some reason. I wish i were a little bit better with computers…in all honesty these things just confuse me. C’mon magic window box, work right…hehe

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.