Lachrymal Nights
    by Douglas Gilbert

You’ve made me write sad songs
’cause you don’t sing for me anymore

I try to believe you never really cried
never really screamed, and you
were just a character in a song

I imagine the laughing hyena
is sad sometimes, and
the minor bird doesn’t feel major

they all have a scream
they all have a cry

Is there any way these are
a cathartic dip in the mud
with a wash and dry, no

trying to be in the movie of life
without a stunt double
makes falling hurt so much
makes singing turn sour

Let them say
the cartoon version is
funny enough to
laugh and cry and hiccup

But I haven’t seen it yet

You’ve made me write sad songs
’cause you don’t sing for me anymore

Leave a Reply

