Giraffe
    by Douglas Gilbert

There is a giraffe who reads my words for me
stands up tall because she loves me like a high leaf

She has a reading every Friday at the club
and they love her because she is so beautiful
and she is so slim and long necked, yes!

She is so cool when
she reaches high
and reaches low

She has no stage fright and
her heart beats true always for me;
I think she can throb for me
without a worry about her heart
except if she would think I would not kiss her neck, but

I would and would all over
and even take her hand for
an innocent walk in the woods

just because I want to
share the moon with her
and do a silly howl or
a lullaby for a Friday night
when she comes home with me
high on applause but
waiting for me to clap
and I do of course, because

we will turn many leaves indeed
just like we always knew some day
we would learn to speak
the language of love like
the necking of the Sun and the Moon,
light on a leaf of belief standing tall.

Leave a Reply

