Trust Is In the Eyes of the Crier by Zawmb’yee


from 5th Ave. photos from Doug

Who Do I Trust

I don’t know what to do, who to trust, and
I don’t even trust myself. Look at

the mess I’ve made. Maybe Naztko
is an honorable man, but maybe
he’s wicked like me
and I am so sorry
I killed my Father
the traitor, but
there are many flavors
of betrayal

Naztko has joined
in the dishonorable
art of politics now.

He was more knowable
when he stuck to his little sacred corner,
guarding our heritage with confidence. Now

he is uncertain, doesn’t know who the true gods are,
doesn’t know what his duties for destiny are.

His faith in tradition is shattered, but
as an honorable man, he wants to cling
to his tradition and faith because
so powerful was the love
of his Mother who was magic, and
held in her heart many magic things
just for the love of him, because
the lioness must save her cub.

— Zawmb’yee Nuje

3 thoughts on “Trust Is In the Eyes of the Crier by Zawmb’yee

  1. oh geez, with all the “improvements” I can’t get the formatting to work right. I come from afar. Give me a break.

  2. Oh geez i guess the plain type is Ok in the grand scheme of things. If I could be so wrong about my Father, maybe I could be wrong about Naztko. But I am so desperate to love anyone who would love me and maybe in such a condition I should reject everyone for safety. How can I live when Love is such a trivial aside for almost everyone who looks at superficial gestures, and I don’t care anymore about the items on your dinner table, because I want to know if I can feast on you soul, and I want to look at you when you’re still sober and think you know how I hiccup.

Leave a Reply

