Zawmb’yee Nuje, Guest Poet : “Death by Acacizg” (Draft 1)

Death by Acacizg by Zawmb’yee Nuje

I drew advice from wise men
my council, my friends, but

their philosophy enabled the weapon,
jargon kissed the death abyss, and

Only dust and vapor remain
when a Acacizg is triggered.

Friends, my council, the ingrained,
do not torture me with philosophy
in a grainy vision because I have seen
Doug be vapor and dust in my dreams

Like the carpenter at the gallows
I am covered in saw dust from
what I envisioned and help build:
the scaffolding of a just war,
a self-defense, but

even a just war
kills lovers and friends, no
fiends and lovers, no
me and Doug in the end, then

torture me not with philosophy;
vapor and dust have no patron, and
I am no bigger than a grain of salt.

I’m not even a pebble to toss in the lake,
not a ripple of laughter we made once.

I’m drowning and must reach for my annihilation.
This forbidden Acacizg will end me.

— Zawmb’yee Nuje

3 thoughts on “Zawmb’yee Nuje, Guest Poet : “Death by Acacizg” (Draft 1)

  1. This is beautiful. Makes me get teary eyed again though. Poor Zawmbyee. I know how it feels to want to just end everything. But ending things doesn’t really fix things so I suppose it’s best for Zawmbyee to wait and see what’s around the next corner. Even the worst of winters are always followed by a beautiful Spring…

    1. I don’t know what to do, who to trust, and I don’t even trust myself. Look at the mess I’ve made. Maybe Naztko is an honorable man, but he’s joined in the dishonorable art of politics now. He was more knowable when he stuck to his little sacred corner, guarding our heritage with confidence. Now he is uncertain, doesn’t know who the true gods are, doesn’t know what his duties for destiny are. His faith in tradition is shattered, but as an honorable man, he wants to cling to his tradition and faith because so powerful was the love of his Mother who was magic and held in her heart many magic things.

    2. “Even the worst of winters are always followed by a beautiful Spring…” — I want to believe this, and I’ve always cherished Spring; so many buds and the young blossoms are so colorful and joyful, the girls dress for joy because it is in their nature to caress the day. Already February and I must only endure this and fickle March with possible snow and April with a possibility.

Leave a Reply

