My Child Is Coming Home

My Child Is Coming Home (Draft 2)

No need to tell me why
I love
you so, no

I feel you telling me
that I still have
you

in my throbs
awesome beating heart

and I wait for you
to come right home, because

I feel a telling
why I love
you so

no, you don’t have to love me
just because you were born, but
I love you,
like the first day,

and
dear Happy Birthday
belated and soon, because

no need to tell me
why I love you so
because I
feel, and

I have set the table
with your favorite foods
and a toy, because

I love you like the first day.

— Douglas Gilbert

One thought on “My Child Is Coming Home

Leave a Reply

