Huh Oh

Huh Oh

The internet’s a place where at best
there’s more persiflage than conversation,
and hey, y’know you’ll rue knowing
it’s where never is heard
perspicaciousness, rather there

more flaky acquaintances than intimacy,
a place of laughing in silence,
and lonely isolation. But ouch

the dead of thought never
rue calling the Devil’s name to
make wombats dig tunnels, while

taking slices of pizza, covered
in gopher blood, and justly
stuffing it in a marsupial’s pouch

just because there’s
an underground mystery,
and a flavor to a huh-whaaa oh

— Douglas Gilbert

5 thoughts on “Huh Oh

  1. Love seeing a new poem from you. It made me feel a little better, I had a bad night’s sleep last night have been thinking too much. Flaky acquaintances just aren’t as fulfilling as intimacy is. Pizza in gopher blood
    ..ick! I liked the ending with the huh waaa oh. How are you?

    1. I can’t get organized, but I thought I was going to start again. But then I got interrupted with some kind of malware attack. It totally destroyed my concentration which was already diverted by Goodreads which was probably the source of the attack. I think Maybe(I hope) it’s been fixed. Every little thing throws me into chaos and a feeling of doom and bad omens. It’s hard to be optimistic when the facts seem to point against it.

    2. [I’m repeating this because I think I put it in the wrong box. (it didn’t indent)]
      Sorry about your bad night. I can’t fall asleep when I think a lot about things that have no answer. I think about all the things in the past I did wrong and I don’t see any lessons from it. And now what? I don’t know. I found some interesting words and I thought I could do something with them. My other projects are at a dead end. I have no idea what to do now.

  2. Sorry about your bad night. I can’t fall asleep when I think a lot about things that have no answer. I think about all the things in the past I did wrong and I don’t see any lessons from it. And now what? I don’t know. I found some interesting words and I thought I could do something with them. My other projects are at a dead end. I have no idea what to do now.

  3. Yeah, sleepless nights do seem to be linked to problems that have no easy solution or answer. I’ve been having too many sleepless nights lately too…I feel like I’m always trying to fix things and sometimes I wonder if the things I’m trying to fix should even be fixed in the first place.
    Well I liked the way you used the interesting words in your poem. I haven’t written anything or done anything creative in ages and it’s kinda depressing.

Leave a Reply

