Six Weeks by “Diane”

Six Weeks by “Diane”

I woke up this morning nauseous, and
I can smell my Mom’s kitchen
were I dare not tread; I dread it

I know my Mom will hate me
when I show, and

I don’t want Aaron to die
when Daddy knows his name, and knows
the place he will choose
where Aaron will die with a bullet

How can my child be happy
if I am not

What will my baby do with me
when she is off my breast

And Granddad is in prison, and
Aaron is dead.

Happy news today, because
I am nauseous

I hope it’s just
the plague

That would be nice.

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Six Weeks by “Diane”

  1. Poor “Diane”. I keep letting her suffer. I don’t know how else to signal a change in point-of-view. Nobody seems able to understand that the narrator is not necessarily the same as the author.

  2. Uh oh… a teen pregnancy? Family usually finds a way to work things out even if it’s tough at first. My grandpa hated my Dad for years til he realized my Dad loved us and wasn’t going anywhere. Though I guess every family is different. Hopefully Aaron doesn’t get shot…

Leave a Reply

