The Lamb Is Evil (Draft 1)

My Dead Family Doesn’t Believe in Religion

There are no moderates
when you kill my family for the prophet.

You have no honor, and your Book is a lie.

When the religious one broke into my full house
where we had a party, and
shot my child dead and every one else, I

did not mourn killing him
with a club I found, and
an instinct to hammer
him dead, and
strike him with a knife

and I found a chair to throw
and I found every weapon
I could throw, and
I held his dead body, until
the police put tape around
all my dear known friends
and I wanted to touch them
to make them come alive

because I knew them
I knew them
and my family was dead
for ideology

and now let me kill the radicals
again

I have another knife

Let me do it again and again….

No, go away police
I will stab him again
I will tear him apart,
in so many ways
I will kill him.

Oh I hate them so much.
Give me the breath to strangle each and every
without a trial

I can’t believe these murders

Don’t tell me
don’t tell me.

I will kill them all

Don’t tell me about mercy
or culture or religion.

This is not culture.
These are animals.
And I don’t want to hear about “moderates”.

— Douglas Gilbert

3 thoughts on “The Lamb Is Evil (Draft 1)

  1. This is really sad, it’s horrible the things people do in the name of religion. Your words are very moving, I can’t imagine living through something like this. What is this based upon (an event in the news?) I always thought religion was supposed to be about love and acceptance. One of the ten commandments is “thou shall not kill” so i just get confused anymore. I think this world has gone crazy most of the time…

    1. Thanks. There have been so many killings lately. Even while they were discussing the killings in Paris there were 2,000 killed in Nigeria. We had to fight in WW2 and name the Nazi’s slaughter of millions. No, it’s very confusing — something is lost in translation. “Thou shall not kill” is impossible in self-defense. One must kill to prevent world domination by irrational tyrants. I think maybe the proper translation is “Thou shall not murder.” It’s a mess how many translations there have been from Greek to Latin to English — it’s just a jumble. I think we have to start all over because too many source documents have been destroyed over thousands of years and nobody knows now what was really said…

      1. You have a point there, it is impossible in self defense. Thall shall not murder does seem to make more sense. But I wonder, if one seeks revenge against those that hurt them and their family and they kill an innocent person (like someone else’s children or family or someone who didn’t have a direct part in what happened) does it then become murder? I just read that and it sounds confusing but I think you understand me enough to know what I meant.
        This is a scary poem though, especially since I’m in full on party planning mode for my son’s birthday…

Leave a Reply

