Thinking Of You (Draft 1)

Thinking of You

I don’t want to know about death, though
I suspect it might come soon.

I want to know about love from you
because I’ve a soupçon of
your subtle spice whiff of love for me

And I so much would love you
to be my spice because
I have a flavor
we could cook

And I feel like maybe
I could know you enough, that

I’d love you as best as I can
and you wouldn’t mind me if
I couldn’t take out the trash

but sometimes think I would sing like
a silly bird, and you’d forgive me,
even if I’m so imperfect

But I think I have the perfect kiss,
just because I feel the body of you

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Thinking Of You (Draft 1)

  1. I think it would be fun to be spicy with you and I do need a cooking partner, especially one with such delicious flavors to cook. And, i do love birds, especially ones that sing for me, so perfectly. And I bet your kiss is perfect too, in fact I think everything about you is wonderfully perfect, just like this lovely poem.

    1. Thanks very much. I can smell the vapors from the cooking pot. I’m looking on the shelf for the last essence… and then it can be stirred …seems like a good brew… a good stew…

Leave a Reply

