My Love Is An Atheist, by “Diane” (draft 2)

My Love Is An Atheist by “Diane” (Draft 2)

I tell you:
you must believe in Heaven
because when you die

I don’t want you to
forget me, and

my dear atheist
I don’t want you to end

I want you to continue
with me forever.

Give me your hand, and
I will comfort you at your death bed.

I like beds
as you know

So in the snow
can we watch the flakes
flow like angels
you don’t believe in

But you believe in me
and I will lift you
because I love you.

Take my hand before you die.
Pardon an aside:

Oh my God please
welcome my friend
who I recommend, and
if need be

I will give
examples of love
for me and many

and when he dies
could you comfort him.

I beseech You for a miracle
because I love him as he is

And now my dear
can I tell you
that you will die, but
I’ve made a reservation for you
in a very fine establishment
that I think you will like

Wait for me though
I don’t want to come too soon

Don’t despair
Wait for me, my love, because
I will seize some knowledge for you
that you will love and laugh with

So many things I will gather for you.

Just wait and don’t be sad because
I will bring you so many gifts of my heart

I don’t know why you would die, but
wait for me because when I come
I will give you my endless love

— Douglas Gilbert

5 thoughts on “My Love Is An Atheist, by “Diane” (draft 2)

  1. I like the new ending…though this poem makes me feel all sad, apparently I have death/loss issues. I don’t want to lose anyone else. This world is such a lonesome place when you’re someone who finds it hard to connect with others. When you do find a connection, it’s so hard to let go. I like the reservation in a very fine establishment (Heaven?). Oh, I have a question, in this stanza should the word be ‘ ‘believe’?
    “So in the snow
    can we watch the flakes
    flow like angels
    you don’t belief in”
    Or maybe it’s missing a ‘have’ like “you don’t have belief in”? For some reason it sounds a little off to me and trips me up at that place each time I read it. Maybe it’s just me…

    1. well, thanks. I guess I’m adequate. I don’t know how I’m going to write with confidence. I have a few notes but it seems pointless and I don’t have any scheme to promote it. So I don’t why I should bother to write.

      1. Well I think you are amazing no matter what – even if you never finished your book I would still think you’re amazing. Maybe you shouldn’t worry about ‘why’ you should do it, but do it just because you like to do it. You don’t even have to share it with me if you don’t want to (even though I do love getting to read it). I guess what I’m trying to say is don’t get caught up in negative feelings towards it or it might stifle your creativity, there’s no pressure to write. Just relax, take a deep breath, maybe a drink or two and let your imagination just go where it wants to with it. If you’re pleased with the results then you can share them, if not then at least you have a starting point or something to work from?
        I love everything you’ve ever written and if there’s anything I can do to help just let me know, maybe together we could figure out some way to promote it.

Leave a Reply

