Giraffe (Draft 1)

Giraffe (Draft 1)

There is a giraffe who reads my words for me
stands up tall because she loves me like a high leaf

She has a reading every Friday at the club
and they love her because she is so beautiful
and she is so slim and long necked, yes!

She is so cool when
she reaches high
and reaches low

She has no stage fright and
her heart beats true always for me;
I think she can throb for me
without a worry about her heart
except if I would not kiss her neck.

— Douglas Gilbert

6 thoughts on “Giraffe (Draft 1)

  1. I love it, it goes perfectly with our giraffe conversation. “she loves me like a high leaf” is great, I’d tippy-toe for the high leaf of you any day…Though I wish I could be a little more calm, cool and collected when it comes to the way my heart can throb when I feel excited. Neck kisses are nice, always seem to heighten the senses somehow…It’s been a long time since I’ve had one of those though, I may need a refresher to remember correctly…

    1. thanks. It’s a little vague as yet. I’m not sure it paints a scene enough. Maybe. I sort of liked it the first few times I read it. Oh well, I’ll come back to it later.

      1. I’ve sort of loved it every time I’ve read it. Your writing is always superb. Although it does seem a little vague…I’m sure anything you come up with for it will be wonderful.

  2. On second thought, I don’t think it’s vague so much as the ending two lines leave you wondering a little. It’s like a ‘pretty sure I understand correctly, but perhaps not’ type feeling? I had taken it as if the the heart pounded too awfully hard that a neck kiss would help…and that she shouldn’t worry about her heart unless he wouldn’t give a neck kiss?

    1. Yeah, It’s been bothering me.

      She has no stage fright and
      her heart beats true always for me;
      I think she can throb for me
      without a worry about her heart
      except if she would think I would not kiss her neck, but

      I would and would all over
      and even take her hand for
      an innocent walk in the woods

      just because I want to
      share the moon with her
      and do a silly howl or
      a lullaby for a Friday night
      when she comes home with me
      high on applause but
      waiting for me to clap
      and I do of course, because

      we will turn many leaves indeed
      just like we always knew

Leave a Reply

