Saving Shakespeare (Draft 1)

Saving Shakespeare (Draft 1)

You told me to study Shakespeare, and I’ve
been really trying, but it’s archaic, and I
don’t know why I would love you more
if you were an ancient poem, were
exactly an iambic pentameter;
oh ancient god don’t make my love
worship you because
I love her more than
you could ever know, and
ancient or not, I will
draw my sword and slay you
if you should ever harm my greatest love.

Yes, I am determined to be powerful,
and I will find whatever secret I need
to save my Love.

My Dearest love,
even if it’s the last thing I do
I will rhyme your name into my
last and every song so
there will be so many echos that
forever everyone will love you
like I do

— Douglas Gilbert

7 thoughts on “Saving Shakespeare (Draft 1)

  1. This is absolutely beautiful, I love it so much. The ending 2 stanzas may very well be some of the most romantic lines I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. You really know how to make a girl swoon, i even felt my cheeks getting all warm and my heart getting all fluttery as I read. I think I’ll read this one a hundred times this evening. You are like a brave king who saves his love against all odds, just like a romantic fairy tale…

    1. Oh yes, thanks, I re-read it and even I like it. yeah, I’m going to have to be careful with this before I change anything. It could work as is, maybe.

      1. It’s perfect…but I thought the point of view seemed a little off at first but this fixes it and it does work wonderfully, (sigh) so beautiful…

    2. Oh good. Yeah, with a little fix I can dance again. I love to drift and jump and dance. I think my best dream is to dance forever because it feels so good and in my dreams I’m so good… yeah If that could be real, wow what great music….I want to be a dance….

      1. Oh, I want to dance again so badly! I haven’t danced since I pulled that muscle in my back in March. But it does seem to be getting better…so hopefully soon. If you were here we could do a gentle dance maybe just a sway that wouldn’t pull my back muscles? But you’re kinda far away. Maybe tonight I can dance with you in my dreams though? That would be nice…

        (aack there is a mosquito in my house and it’s freaking me out! I keep trying to smack it but it flies away before I can get it)

Leave a Reply

