Running by ‘Diane’ (Draft 1)

After he learned to walk,
what a thrill to watch him run,

just wish he had a Dad
to snatch him up and hug him,

always hoped to meet someone
who’d love us like a Daddy,

But he’s already 12. Oh God
but for my Father, doting Grandpa.

Yeah, I think this will work:
he’s a great kid, and
so is my Father:

Love them so much.
This is a play we can do:

what a thrill to watch us run
in fields of joy, with flowers
that kiss and let us be playful and happy

Yeah, I’d say we are glorious children,
with so many fields to run in, and I warm
to the flower that blooms in the corner
where I sigh with love,
looking out at the sunrise.

One thought on “Running by ‘Diane’ (Draft 1)

  1. Oh, this is lovely! We’d have to include my mom in the family play too though, I love her too and wouldn’t want her to feel left out because both grandparents are important parts of a child’s life. I do know that my Dad is the closest thing to a father that my son’s had but of course my father can’t fill all the duties that a husband/father role would…so there’s still this big empty loneliness, well at least for me.
    I like the flower that blooms in the corner at the end though.

Leave a Reply

