Remembering Nothing (Draft 1)

Remembering Nothing (Draft 1)

I am so sorry to awake
to remember I’m nothing,
and know that dreams are impossible

The day drags on from
the cries of sunrise to
a sunset whose beauty
is empty without you

I don’t want to be awake
and don’t want to
fall asleep to nightmares

Basically I think I’m done
cooked with the wrong spices

As with the tides
I am in and out

And there is little time

I used to think
I had a scream

But now I know
I’m too gentle to live

— Douglas Gilbert

3 thoughts on “Remembering Nothing (Draft 1)

  1. Sadly, I feel exactly the same way. Everything feels hopeless when it feels like there’s nothing I can do to change anything. I just sit here and marinate in loneliness and wishes. But I still have a sliver of hope that hangs on, the ‘what if’ or ‘maybe tomorrow’. I know you have a scream though and you should use it to scream for me to wake me up and save me from my bad dreams.

    1. Good idea. I’ll ask my singing teacher to teach me the correct way to scream without hurting my voice and without attracting the police.

Leave a Reply

