Your Pink Camera (Aftermath [Draft 4] )

Your Pink Camera (Aftermath [Draft 4])

In the pink of things
we watched the sun rise
and let it kiss the day
(us too)
a red blush

We thought all tides
smiled at us, and

We’d heard
all the false alarms
many years

Stormy Sandy days came just after us;
things were washed away
seagulls cried

Gave you a pink camera you’d wanted, and
you said you’d visit the beach to
hear the seagulls cry blue
the ocean roar

Said you’d get batteries for it
after you got a cute pink computer

Stormy day floods on first floors
things washed away, but
weren’t you on the fourth

Don’t know
haven’t heard from you.
Did you get the batteries
and go into the storm surge?

Stormy days
things washed away
and I haven’t seen your pink
but I gave you the pink camera

In Hurricane days
things were washed away
seagulls cried blue
and videos were shown

Maybe it was you in the pink,
who took those anonymous pictures —
I haven’t heard

I miss your pink, had
missed you in the swirls

but, yeah, it’s your style
you could have posted video P1748:
seagulls following your pink camera

Stormy days, dead
things washed away
seagulls cry blue

Bulldozers and sand walls
protection against the waves.
Did you get batteries and a pink dress?

Didn’t you say you’d visit the beach
to hear seagulls cry

Next time you see the seagulls
tell them I love them, ok?

— Douglas Gilbert

5 thoughts on “Your Pink Camera (Aftermath [Draft 4] )

  1. I like the changes and additions…a kiss and a blush sounds nice. The weather men always seem to have false alarms when it comes to storms. They hype the storm up and then nothing happens. I guess they don’t really know – weather is like a a science of ‘what ifs’ I suppose. I may not have a pink camera and pink computer but oddly enough my cell phone and laptop are both the exact same color of blue. I didn’t plan it that way, it just sort of happened…but it looks planned when I have them sitting near one another. Oh well, maybe I’ll use my cell phone camera to take pictures of seagulls when and if I ever get to go to the beach again. I’m sure the seagulls would love to pose for a picture, and if I do a dance for them maybe they will sing instead of cry.

    1. That’s nice. I like blue. I can see you in blue. I’ve heard they can sing if you’d give them a proper contract with unlimited fish and 10% of the movie rights. Well, I suppose it’s alright if Prima Donnas have proper feathers and an elegant tickle. Oh so many ways to laugh and mostly it is wonderful.

      1. I’ve been blue a lot lately…way more than anyone should be. Tickles and laughs sound like a little slice of happiness. Today I was shopping and I thought of you when I was at the book store and saw that they had old fashioned feather quills with bottles of ink for writing. I almost bought one but decided against it because I was father’s day shopping and I’m trying to be really careful with my money (so I can go on vacation and sing or dance with seagulls). But my son got my Dad a copper bird decoration for his gardens and I bought him a pen holder for his desk that has an inscription on it that says “The pen is mightier than the sword”. I hope he likes it…I also made him a chocolate peanut butter pie.

      1. I hope he does too, I think he does. We had a nice dinner and the pie I made was delicious. He loved his gifts we got him too so I’m glad about that. Then he listened to the weird noise my car was making. I’m going to have to get it checked out because I think I’m going to drive it on vacation and instead of the beach we’re probably going on vacation to Gatlinburg TN to the Smoky Mountains. Then I came home and watered my flowers and walked/jogged with Petals…

Leave a Reply

