Sloopy (Draft 1)

Sloopy (Draft 1)

Why must there be
so many places without joy?

Baby don’t fall off the mountain.

Oh Joyce I don’t know why
your Daddy puts you down
and why you must stay with cockroaches
in your part of town

Oh baby, can you cross the border
’cause there’d be no disorder
if you’d wait for me,
only wait for me

I know there’s a cliff
where everyone dis’s you

But baby don’t fall;
I’ve got the rockin’ gear
and the pinions of a mountain climb

I know you’re on a cliff, but
hang on

I will hoist you up to God, and
maybe He will share you with me

because I want to save you, and
my rescue ropes are of joy. We will

cross the border
and climb mountains

because never would I
want you to be anywhere
but on my street if
you love me, or

even if you don’t.

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Sloopy (Draft 1)

  1. I like the new poem…I like that you used Sloopy! And the name Joyce goes really well with joy. It’s scary being on a cliff especially when you feel so alone and it’s hard to hang on sometimes since loneliness makes time seem to pass so slowly. But I’ll wait for you, just promise to come soon cause rescue ropes of joy sound so much better than losing hold and falling from the cliff-side. Did I ever tell you that one of the many things I’m allergic to is cockroaches? Seriously…actually it’s cockroach dust from their molting or something like that. But anyway I’d love to be with you on your street…

    1. Thanks. I couldn’t find anything that made sense of “Hang on Sloopy.” I couldn’t find out who “Sloopy” was or is — just that it’s a weird female name.

Leave a Reply

