Well-wishing Coins in the Fountain (Draft huh?)

Well-
Wishing Coins in the Fountain

Well-Wishing Coins in the Fountain (Draft who knows ( can’t remember when I last worked on this from nowhere)(Waiting For The Moon (Draft 2)[I Want to Feel As If I ever Mattered (Draft 2) )

I buy my songs about ping-pong love
with a ding-dong coin in the wishing well

I’d love to buy you a love song
if the fountain conspiracy would
charge me as a friend of yours, and
give me a melody I could sing
for your chorus, and for your
verse of call and response

I know how much you listen
know how much you care.

There’d be music they’d
ask me to verify for you

and I’d be a musical reference for you and me
because I have sighed so many times, and

wanted to revive in the fields of you

so much wanted to grow

so much wanted to know
why you were over there

and I was over here

seems like there’d be music
if the Sun would dance with the Moon,

but if they can’t download me
I will touch you on the shoulder

surprise!

— Douglas Gilbert

4 thoughts on “Well-wishing Coins in the Fountain (Draft huh?)

  1. It was annoying me that there were two different clichés: “wishing well, and coins in the fountain.” So, I think by putting both in the title that I eliminate that problem?

    1. I think it works great! I like the ‘well-wishing’ ’cause it fits good with the fountain and well-wishes is a nice way to say your wishing good for someone or something…oh, and well, I also tend to use the word ‘well’ a lot, hehe. The ‘draft huh?’ made me giggle and so did your title explanation at the beginning of the poem. I love when I first wake up and I’m still groggy from sleeping and i sip on my coffee as I read your words and smile. I know I’ve said it before but it’s my favorite way to start the day. I like the addition of ‘for your chorus, and for your verse of call and response’. Chorus, verse and response all sound great together with the ‘s’ endings. I’d sing along with the chorus of you anytime.

      1. well-well,Thanks. Wonderful to hear you smile.
            I finally made an appointment for a private singing lesson. I hope it goes well. If it works well like a wishing well then maybe I’ll find a group to sing with. But I think this will be better to start with : I won’t be afraid to sing off-key because she’ll be professional and just help me fix it. I think in a group it would feel embarrassing.

  2. A private singing lesson, that should be fun, I hope it goes well too. What you wrote reminds me of that Beatle’s song’s lyrics “What would you do if I sang out of tune, would you stand up and walk out on me? Lend me your ear and I’ll sing you a song and I’ll try not to sing out of key. OH I get by with a little help from my friends…” I think that’s how it goes but just so ya know, i wouldn’t walk out on you if you sang out of tune…

Leave a Reply

