The Mind of Us (Draft 5)

The Mind of Us (Draft 5)

So reveal to me
this naked love you have for me, because

don’t you know I have
so many naked things to say

and these sacred desires
are nothing but a love dream, because

you were always
floating on my stream

and if you would splash me,
girl you’d be so delicious, because
there is a hunger, and I know
many times I could love you in my mind

seems like some dream might
actually be a

many faceted love unlike
the gem of me ordinarily
but different for you, as I wish it
magnificent with its gleam

so when you scream for me
I will have your happiness in my arms
as you do too
and I won’t mind at all
when we cry for each other

Don’t you know it’s divine
so I say

do tell me you’ve always known, and
say that love is not a grand surprise.

Tell me what I wish to wonder
whenever the rain falls
and there is thunder

you were always a surprise
and can you be my wonder prize

Tell me what I wish to wonder

just because you were always
floating on my stream,

and you were always
in my dreams

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “The Mind of Us (Draft 5)

  1. Oooh I like the new additions…the repeating ‘tell me what I wish to wonder’ sort of gives it a dreamy fairy tale feel in some way (i’m not sure why exactly) and I like the thunder rhyme. Oh and I love the ‘you were always in my dreams’ at the end…
    (blows you a kiss!)

Leave a Reply

