I Want to Feel As If I Ever Mattered (Draft 1)

It Could Maybe Possibly Be Could If Any Bird Would Sing For Me

I’d love to buy my love song
if the fountain conspiracy would
charge me as a friend of you

I know how much you listen
know how much you care.

They can give me as a musical reference
because I have died so many times, and

wanted to revive in the fields of you

so much wanted to grow

so much wanted to know
why you were over there

and I was over here

seems like there’d be music
if the Sun would dance with the Moon.

— Douglas Gilbert

3 thoughts on “I Want to Feel As If I Ever Mattered (Draft 1)

  1. I’d sing for you, I’d try my best though i’m sure my voice isn’t as sweet as the bird’s chirps and whistles. I like the revive in the fields of you, I think that’s one of the best places to grow. This is lovely, I like the over there and over here – it goes well with the sun and moon. It does seem like there would be music…I love those ending lines.

    1. Thanks. It’s kind of weird and spontaneous. I’m not sure what it means. If I can put some meaning to it I might add something. I suppose it’s better for me to try to bleed a few thoughts than reject something. I have lots of stuff that is so awkward but seems redeemable.

Leave a Reply

