Long Lane (Draft 0)

Long Lane (Draft 0)

Gave you a turquoise gem on a chain.
Remember I tried, but

can we stroll the long lane ahead
in ol’ Harlem like a thread unread,
a bare potent thing unsaid, yeah
seems like sadness’s
gonna get me again.

Oh tell me that you’d
walk along with me, ’cause
there’s a math to a we-step, and
applause in a theater left behind, oh yeah

give me your turquoise memories’ count
and we’ll sing the best blues for Apollo
because

the gospel has a theater for us
where we count our blessings
and shout hallelujah
like we used tah, ’cause

the alpha dog don’t
need no gods
but only you
and the One for us.

I think we could sing
a little bit syncopated
and He won’t mind
hallelujah, if we rock

and roll out the carpet
like the Stars are marching
and we’ve got a righteous number.

You have your high-heel shoes,
your red dress, baby, and
I have my moccasins to walk a mile, uh
well less, down 125th Street
with a ghost of James and turquoise

— Douglas Gilbert

3 thoughts on “Long Lane (Draft 0)

  1. I like your new poem, it feels rhythmic like song lyrics. I’d walk along with you, down the long lane anytime. I love the way you used the ‘tah’ and ’cause’, i think it adds to the rhythmic feeling of it. I liked this line a lot “the alpha dog don’t need no gods but only you and the One for us.” and I liked the high heels and red dress (i still haven’t worn that one I bought a long time ago) and i love moccasins. I was a tad bit confused about the James though, (i know it’s just me not catching on to a reference or something again).
    Oh, I love turquoise so much, it’s my birthstone – I used to make a lot of jewelry with it when I used to sell necklaces and bracelets and I almost bought a pair of turquoise earrings not too long ago but i went with the red coral pair instead…

    1. Thanks. I’m glad you know about turquoise because I just threw it in without knowing anything about it really. James refers to James Brown the rock and roll singer who I think appeared at the Apollo Theater as did a lot of famous people.

Leave a Reply

