Legend Baby (2007) (R?)

Legend Baby (2007)

With lost soft hugs
lost pressing kisses
bear hugs,
Melissa is lost
has left me to be
haunted by ghosts
of guilt, of soul
I deny:
J’accuse my dear
you fooled me
against my nature

Oh Melissa, you
cried upon a star,
told me and the night sky
I was the father though
you had many lovers

Because the baby girl made
a lollipop microphone
I knew she’d be a star
a legend in her twinkle,
no end to promise

You were a mother
who watched bear legend TV, liked bears,
believed every myth seen
as cuteness lied and misled. Earnestly I

warned against them.
Listening to me in jest
smiling at me instead
you said
the wild child laughs. I kissed
the one who chuckles,
your baby luck
the one you suckled, but
you are at an end to sanity
your daughter lost
to your foolish love of all.

I changed baby’s diaper once,
watched her take a first step,
a father sharing labors.

But I was fine, I thought
’twasn’t mine in the end, and
though your daughter cried
I would not bare faced cry
for didn’t I say with logic base:
do not feed the bears,
not flour
not flowers
not porridge.
Hungry bears eat babies.

Listening to me in jest
smiling at me instead
the baby was left alone. That’s why

you could not stop screaming
clawing the tree
scratching your own face, why you
threw the empty baby carriage into the river,
childless

Fathers don’t let bears eat their children,
not the one read
“Goldilocks and the Bears” to sleep, but

if this is my dead baby
I will cry tomorrow.
If I were to believe
this baby were mine
I’d be as crazy as you, Melissa.

They were beautiful
and the woods are ugly.
Melissa’s baby, her Myth, and
my feelings are dead
to drift in my fog hiding
howling vain creatures
biting and sucking to leach
the guilt I deny, but
creature forgive me;
give me back my blood
my guilt, before death
makes me ghostly
too pale to love Melissa again.

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Legend Baby (2007) (R?)

  1. I don’t remember why this was originally a problem, but anyway the STAT page says someone was searching for this one yesterday. It seems odd after all this time has gone by… Oh who knows it could even be me — sometimes I look at the website to find something without signing in, and I get counted as a stranger or visitor in the statistics

    1. hmm…it wasn’t me searching for it…sounds like you have a mystery searcher. But this is a sad one…in many ways. For a mom, losing her baby is one of the worst things that can ever happen. It’s also sad that she would lie about who the father was. I’m not sure why anyone would do that…maybe they just wanted to pick who they wish the father was out of all the men they slept with? It would be horrible for a man wanting to believe a child was his but to be left wondering about the paternity.

Leave a Reply

