I Don’t Want To Know (Draft 2)

I Don’t Want To Know (Draft 2)

I don’t want to know
if you love me anymore

I don’t want to know why
you ran out in the snow

Just tell me that you’re safe
and you made it to your refuge
and I can be your rescue if you ask

I can be everything if you’d ask

I don’t want to know
if you love me anymore
because if you go far away

I want you to take my heart
and beat every sorrow down
like we used to do

Oh you used to love me, and
can you take me as a charm

Be well because always
I love you as you

and you know
I don’t want to know
if you love me anymore

be well
and think of me in your dreams
because I love you
like I did
and always

— Douglas Gilbert

5 thoughts on “I Don’t Want To Know (Draft 2)

  1. So beautifully written…it still makes me all emotional feeling, i like the change, ‘Be well because always I love you as you’. It works perfectly for the poem and is just as loving as i will always love you. I think being loved as you are for who you are is what everyone hopes for and dreams of…

Leave a Reply

