Wrecking Waves (r 8+)

Wrecking Waves

Melancholy waves I
endure for the current state, but

a past can not sigh on static shores
because the wrecking throb is
pumping sorrow blood
that feeds lachrymal eyes

Sorrow ocean is too vast to carry my breath upon your cheek
across the breadth and depth of shipwrecking currents

In the current state I do not know
where you are floating, don’t know
if your ship is patched with a love
that seals every leak

I imagine if you cry for me, tears
will not sink your ship, because

they will be overboard prayers
like rain the seagulls hear
and feathered thoughts will tell me where you are

Surely, I will speak to seagulls as consultants
to bring you wings, and
we will cry out to you:
come ashore

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Wrecking Waves (r 8+)

  1. I love this one too…I’m sure the ship is patched with love and it’s much better to think of tears as being overboard prayers. It’s so exciting at the end with the seagulls being consultants and bringing wings. I just went back and read my shipwrecked poem again…

Leave a Reply

