Being Where We Sing (draft 1)

Being Where We Sing

If you can’t listen to what I’m saying
If you can’t be out of your mind

let me say that when you’re an animal
I respect your passion, because
when I’m in a mischievous mood
there can be no rectitude except that
I love you, and

why not
be hot

it’s a matter of
passion!

I know you love me
I know I love you

Good times!

You’re such a clever girl
can stir me to twirl about you

Oh come flower
come take a shower

Good times!

I know you love me
I know I love you

No sense inferring
when I’m concurring
that there’s not good times

to be making and
I’m not talkin’ bacon

good times to stake a claim
to grill a steak and
make a sizzle with you
because there’ll be a shish kabob

with hot peppers and mushrooming
time and thyme, cumin and coming

If you can’t listen to what I’m saying
just be out of your mind, ’cause
I won’t mind
it’ll be fine, and then

there’ll be an exclamation
a conversation and
explanation

but these good times
I’d rather dance with you
happy senseless

can you make me blush,
oh I love your touch

good times
and I know you know it
and we’ll talk
tomorrow

happy days
that won’t be sorrow

If you don’t know what I’m saying
you can just be out of your mind
’cause I won’t mind, and
I know what you mean
when you cry for me

I’m here, no really
sincere

Tell me
forever, and
I’ll endeavor
to be out of my mind for you

just smile me kindly
and I will understand
the wild touch

— Douglas Gilbert

5 thoughts on “Being Where We Sing (draft 1)

  1. ooh, this is hot! Sizzlin’! I love it, makes me all excitable feeling…good times indeed…Yes, yes, please come dance with me. I liked the ‘oh come flower, come take a shower’ and i think i could make you blush, i know you’ve made me blush a time or two…actually i’m blushing just thinking about what i’d do to make you blush. I like all the food talk, the steak, shish kabobs, hot peppers oh and cumin and coming…made my mind wander deliciously. I like your mischievous mood, very passionate and sexy…i read this before my morning dance and then thought about you the whole time. Makes me dream about good times forever…

    1. Thanks. I wanted to write something like a song because they kept promoting a song on TV. They were suddenly having guest appearances all over the place. I liked the music but I couldn’t understand the words because they were so fast and the music so loud. So I found the words on the internet and it was very disappointing — I thought it was going to be more intricate. Then I found the video for it and some of it was great but there were a few very weird and disturbing things in it, and wasn’t sure what they were trying to say. But then I wound up doing a shallow poem too which I thought I was going to avoid. Oh well, I guess I didn’t learn much. I had wanted to start writing songs, but I guess I’m off to a bad start… well, anyway, the poem is not too bad as a poem I guess, but it’s kind of sparse. Oh gee, now that I think about again, I think I may have used some phrases from the song they were repeating. Well, I don’t know, I suppose things like “out of your mind” is a common way of speaking The song that kept popping up in TV programs was:

      Robin Thicke “Blurred Lines”
      http://vevo.ly/W0OCcA

      Everybody get up, WOO!
      Hey, hey, hey
      Hey, hey, hey
      Hey, hey, hey

      [Verse 1: Robin Thicke]
      If you can’t hear what I’m trying to say
      If you can’t read from the same page
      Maybe I’m going deaf
      Maybe I’m going blind
      Maybe I’m out of my mind

      [Bridge: Robin Thicke]
      Ok, now he was close
      Tried to domesticate you
      But you’re an animal
      Baby, it’s in your nature
      Just let me liberate you
      You don’t need no papers
      That man is not your maker
      And that’s why I’m gon’ take a

      [Hook: Robin Thicke]
      Good girl
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      You’re a good girl
      Can’t let it get past me
      You’re far from plastic
      Talk about getting blasted
      I hate these blurred lines
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      But you’re a good girl
      The way you grab me
      Must wanna get nasty
      Go ahead, get at me

      [Verse 2: Robin Thicke]
      What do they make dreams for
      When you got them jeans on
      What do we need steam for
      You the hottest bitch in this place
      I feel so lucky, you wanna hug me
      What rhymes with hug me
      Hey!

      [Bridge]
      [Bridge: Robin Thicke]
      Ok, now he was close
      Tried to domesticate you
      But you’re an animal
      Baby, it’s in your nature
      Just let me liberate you
      You don’t need no papers
      That man is not your maker
      And that’s why I’m gon’ take a

      [Hook]
      [Hook: Robin Thicke]
      Good girl
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      You’re a good girl
      Can’t let it get past me
      You’re far from plastic
      Talk about getting blasted
      I hate these blurred lines
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      But you’re a good girl
      The way you grab me
      Must wanna get nasty
      Go ahead, get at me

      [Verse 2: Robin Thicke]
      What do they make dreams for
      When you got them jeans on
      What do we need steam for
      You the hottest bitch in this place
      I feel so lucky, you wanna hug me
      What rhymes with hug me
      Hey!

      [Verse 3: T.I.]
      Hustle Gang Homie
      One thing I ask of you
      Lemme be the one you back that ass up to
      From Malibu to Paris boo
      Had a bitch, but she ain’t bad as you
      So, hit me up when you pass through
      I’ll give you something big enough to tear your ass in two
      Swag on ’em even when you dress casual
      I mean, it’s almost unbearable
      In a hundred years not dare would I
      Pull a Pharcyde, let you pass me by
      Nothin’ like your last guy, he too square for you
      He don’t smack that ass and pull your hair like that
      So I’m just watching and waitin’
      For you to salute the true big pimpin’
      Not many women can refuse this pimping
      I’m a nice guy, but don’t get confused, this pimpin’

      [Breakdown: Robin Thicke]
      Shake your rump
      Get down, get up-a
      Do it like it hurt, like it hurt
      What you don’t like work
      Hey!

      [Verse 4: Robin Thicke]
      Baby, can you breathe
      I got this from Jamaica
      It always works for me
      Dakota to Decatur
      No more pretending
      Cause now you’re winning
      Here’s our beginning
      I always wanted a

      [Hook: Robin Thicke]
      Good girl
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      You’re a good girl
      Can’t let it get past me
      You’re far from plastic
      Talk about getting blasted
      I hate these blurred lines
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      I know you want it
      But you’re a good girl
      The way you grab me
      Must wanna get nasty
      Go ahead, get at me

      [Verse 2: Robin Thicke]
      What do they make dreams for
      When you got them jeans on
      What do we need steam for
      You the hottest bitch in this place
      I feel so lucky, you wanna hug me
      What rhymes with hug me
      Hey!

      [Bridge: Pharrell & Robin Thicke]
      Everybody get up
      Everybody get up
      Everybody get up
      Hey, Hey, Hey
      Hey, Hey, Hey
      Hey, Hey, Hey

      [Outro: Pharrell & Robin Thicke]
      Everybody get up, WOO!
      Hey, hey, hey
      Hey, hey, hey
      Hey, hey, hey

      1. Well I loved your poem. I’ve heard that song on TV too, i never thought to look it up though. I watched to about halfway then stopped it, but then i restarted it when i did my morning dance. It is quite a catchy tune to dance to. hmm…there were a few weird things in that video…but I bet (hope) he’s a very nice man who goes around and finds good girls that are poor who can’t afford clothes and takes them out to buy an outfit after they dance for the video or something. I hope the girls don’t catch a cold, it looked a little chilly in that room where they were shooting the video.

    2. I guess sometimes it’s best not to know the words or see by the unexpurgated version of the video what they really meant. Nowadays there seems to be an undercurrent of misogyny in music. I don’t know why that’s necessary. Wild things are OK but not cruel things — oh I guess that’s why they called it “Blurred Lines” but maybe if they’re going to be blurry they shouldn’t take it over the line in the video; I guess their poem is vague enough, but then the video seems to talk about drugs and prostitution — that’s not good. I guess they want it both ways: they have an innocent version for one crowd and a dark version for another crowd. They made G-rated versions of the video too.
          I like your version: “he’s a very nice man who goes around and finds good girls that are poor who can’t afford clothes and takes them out to buy an outfit after they dance for the video or something.” Yeah, that’s funny: I was thinking that too about how they’re dancing around and it must be cold and I can see they must have done a lot of dancing until they could take short clips they wanted to use for the video — you could see by the way they put it together with the singing that they must have done hours of dancing just to get a few clips. There were pieces of different moods: there were the shy cover-up dance moves, then the strutting totally exposed dance, the artistic and the vulgar — it must have been an exhausting process[(they must have thought, “do I really want to do this? Am I embarrassing myself or will this be good for my career. Nowadays, this must be totally acceptable (or not?). Am I beautiful for my dance or just being exploited?”] I found it interesting that the guys kept their clothes on(which I’m grateful for) but the girls were nude which is good for me but not so good for the women who might watch I imagine, but then all the bragging by the men seemed odd in contrast? Hmm, is this a ramble or does any of it make sense?

      1. Yeah, i know what you mean about the misogyny, it’s really not necessary. It’s not just in music…the way women are treated in general is not so great. I don’t think men would like it if women all acted like men, challenging them and their decisions every step of the way. Well maybe some men would like it, i don’t know…i’m hardly an expert when it comes to men. But i notice that a lot of times women are just treated like a piece of meat with no feelings when they would do anything for the one they love and i suppose getting your heart and hopes stomped on enough times makes some good women afraid to even try anymore. Yeah, maybe they should’ve kept those lines blurred a little more, (hehe). I don’t think drugs and prostitution should be glorified. I’m too shy (or maybe self-conscious) to do a naked dance on film but i suppose those girls have made a career out of it. I think the men should’ve been undressing too though, at least down to their underwear…it would’ve made it a bit more interesting for the ladies who would watch the video.

Leave a Reply

