Waiting In the Pool (Draft 1)

Waiting in the Pool (Draft 1)

Sparkling water sounds off to me as I swim
better than Champagne because it is my
stroke in the water that propels and glistens

but when you swam under me
and looked up from under water,
I was so hard and embarrassed that

I could not leave the pool
until the size of my bathing suit
had shrunken

It would have been better if
you had attacked me like a shark

And so I’m standing in shallow water waiting
and you are out of the pool smiling

— Douglas Gilbert

3 thoughts on “Waiting In the Pool (Draft 1)

  1. I think i just blushed for you! Quite the dilemma…but i suppose as far as dilemmas go, then it’s probably one of the better ones to have. At least that ‘dilemma’ is one that’s enjoyable to fix. “It would have been better if you had attacked me like a shark” made me giggle…shark style huh? Never heard of that before, sounds fun ; )

    1. Hmm, well, I don’t know if I should have done this one. Maybe it should have been one of the billions of poems to stick in a draw. Maybe it’s euphemistic enough not to go over a line. I don’t know… and the tenses are mixed up. I think maybe I should stop now and try to put together a collection of the more well thought out poems. It looks like I’m about to get too reckless…. probably I should stop..

      1. huh? What? Stop?!? I love it! Keep going, definitely. It was the best part of yesterday! In fact, wanna go swimming with me? hehe…

Leave a Reply

