I Want My Thousand Words (Draft 3)

I Want My Thousand Words (Draft 3)

Look up,
look it up.

She’s running wild
climbing adventurous trees

Those wild trees uproot themselves
just to make a statement
even if they fall short of running
but, of course, it’s not recommended

Yes, trees can branch
that’s their slow motion adventure
when they must wait for seed carriers
that bear their fruit

Maybe she’ll come down
for our favorite wine
and a dithyramb
about ecstasy
and leafy love

I have seen her dither,
climb a tree in bloom
speak with flirty birds
and have a word with me
that is a subtle twitter bark
surrounding like a hug wood
a play with banter-word chirps

But wilder is better…

With such waiting twiddle I wanted much
to touch her since then, and
there is a flourish in melody
that accompanies the twaddle
of the giddy blooming of me
I hear when I think
of her as branching music
reaching for the sky

I know she’s reading
between tweets
sneaking a look at
longer things like me
world famous innuendo

Hello, I can see you and
I have words to sing.
Step away from the box screen
and meet me in the forest;
there’s a long body
of conversation
of pleasure

I want my thousand words,
don’t want to abbreviate you
or shorten the picture

I don’t see you
as a u or pic, and
I’m so sorry u
were picked on

I will file a brief
in the highest court for
je ne sais quoi appeals, and
run rampant on ramparts of verbosity
because at least prolixity has a tongue
a lingua frank and a lingua true
not politically corrected scrub
but where I could be a tree
and you could be a bush
in the metaphor field
away from the digital box
and on to lots

short enough for ya’
u,… Oh, I would ask
your real name, but
I forgot mine

— Douglas Gilbert

4 thoughts on “I Want My Thousand Words (Draft 3)

  1. I like the idea that trees are having slow motion adventures, i’ve never thought about it that way but it seems to make perfect sense. It kind of reminds me of when I said that big cities probably feel like thick scabs to the Earth. You know, with all the pavement and buildings everywhere (not many open green fields). Taking different perspectives is important I think. I like the “dithyramb about ecstasy and leafy love” it sounds like a good dithyramb to me and I agree, wilder is better. Love all the new changes…

    1. Thanks. I was trying to add something about the wildness of the dithyramb that I imagine even though I have no idea what those ancient people were doing but anyway I like wine, women, and song… so despite the decadence I think there could have been joy for a few people who were kind. I think if I were a rich person in ancient times, I would have been secretly kind… you know, forbidden love for the “undeserving” of a lower class who are actually very upper loving and warmer than the sun…

      1. I was just thinking that a wild dithyramb would probably be lots of fun to dance to…especially if it was about ecstasy and leafy love. I bet you would’ve been one of the wisest rich men then, because only the wisest of men know that it takes something more than money to learn the art of upper loving, to learn the dance that could warm a man’s heart and melt away the ice, just like the summer sun…

    2. Beautiful poetic comment. Thanks. I suppose I’d have to learn Greek to understand what a dithyramb is like. I imagine that the sounds of Greek are probably not translatable into English sounds but I have no idea.
          I just realized that the vague “storyline” is a little incoherent. The story was clear in my imagination but I see that it’s not actually on the paper(oh I mean screen). Sometimes she’s up a tree and sometimes she abbreviating and sending text messages. I guess I got two characters and two themes mixed up because I started writing in the middle of the poem and adding at both ends and changing from “you” to “she” and back and both and past and present and ooops branching… Well, maybe I can have it all work… I made another draft, yikes.

Leave a Reply

