Come Cry With Me (revised)

Come Cry With Me (revised)

If this be the day
of shelter, I am joy;
come.

If you are here
with me in spirit
do not be so subtle
’cause I will believe
and listen to whispers
in the wisps of dreams

Oh yes,
come tomorrow
in the light

I have waited forever.
Be with me and
I will love you so.

I have a kiss for you.
Come get it.

I will be kind to spirits.
All I ever wanted was
a picnic with you.

I promise no rain will fall
on us much more than
to hide tears, because
I want you to know
you are joy, and I
have a sandwich
to sandwich us
to be tasty

We will spread out
on the meadow, and
if there be rain
we will run inside
and laugh
as the giggles pour on the roof
and you show me heaven.

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Come Cry With Me (revised)

  1. It’s beautiful – i love this one, it made me feel happier and it made me kinda excitable as i was reading it just now. I think the new line at the end “and you show me heaven.” is what got me all warm feeling…I also liked these a lot “’cause I will believe and listen to whispers in the wisps of dreams” and “I have waited forever. Be with me and I will love you so.”
    I could keep listing my favorite lines but i’d just end up listing the whole poem…

    1. Thanks. I think it’s finished now but I said that before. I’m not sure, is it clear (or maybe it doesn’t need to be clear) that she’s a ghost? I thought maybe “in the light” would be an additional clue? Maybe I need to be more specific about what this is about?

Leave a Reply

