Eu Caco (Draft 2)

Eu Caco (Draft 2)

I knew her in the protest days
when she had the cacoethes loquendi
was a gifted articulate rabble rouser
in a day when there were no cell phones
just cells

Oh the sadness of her cacoepy when
she mumbles tripe into the belly of a text message
never speaking in a sentence that would echo
over the harbinger crows that these days
inhabit the empty speakers’ square
where passersby, no longer downtrodden,
are down headed streaming pap on screens

I knew her when she would stand on a statue
demand her rights when she was right, there
in the speakers’ square (secretly knowing she was cute)

But now she’s downheaded and confused
refusing the speakers’ platform
where birds and I
could hear some rhetorical question
that I profoundly would, with chalice aforethought,

mischievously answer in basso profundo
“Share my wine of fictional dictum in a cup”
and I could see now that
she’d pronounce us “Huh whaa?”
and does she know I know
she knows she’s cute

I think a kiss would be
better than a text message
or a revolution

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Eu Caco (Draft 2)

  1. I think a kiss would be better than a text message or a revolution too…
    I like all that you added to this, it’s spirited and lively, makes me wish i had all the self confidence the girl in your poem has. I like
    “articulate rabble rouser
    in a day when there were no cell phones
    just cells”
    and
    “I knew her when she would stand on a statue
    demand her rights when she was right, there
    in the speakers’ square (secretly knowing she was cute)”
    oh and I still like the “Share my wine of fictional dictum in a cup”
    I like it all but I think the ending stanza is my favorite new addition though, nice work!

    1. Thanks. I thought this would be impossible to get beyond just trying to use an odd word and so I’m happy I was able to get a theme in there and wrap it up. Hmm, I used to throw away things like this when they were too abstract and it didn’t seem possible to go anywhere…but apparently it’s possible to expand on a smudge…

Leave a Reply

