Tea (Draft 5)

Tea (Draft 5)

Climbing away to a mist beyond foliage
where leaves leave peaks alone
naked at the top
no tea leaves to read

Wandering up
lost from you, climbing
away to a mist, hoping
something would
move me like you did a day
looking up, listening
to true katydids
at the top of the oak tree
serving me true approval
and encouragement tea.

Mountain climbing where
leaves leave peaks
I had hoped to let spirits of you sanctify
meanders in the cold with gracious thoughts,
those hot dreams of you that infuse the stew
I carry in my backpack, mostly filled with
drudge stuff, but your precious memorandear
was tucked into the rear pocket made for
precious notes like gems amen, something
to hold for incantations against pebbles
in the shoes and grace for stumble stones
that haunt the winding up mountain path

Broken trees below the snow line
broken hearts above
misty mountain hawks
splintered memories clawing

Blue skies and fluff at the mountain top.
In a cloud I saw your face, a
tea cup and a dove, but

I heard myself scream and
saw the grief of my breath
form wispy puffs that fly away

But those sorrows are not of you,
though you do embrace every sparrow,
and when you’d not know
the name of the bird, you’d
christen it cute and lovely like you are

Winding down
there are birds in the sky
and no stumble stones, but
only the scent of tea up my nose
the feel of a memorandear in my pocket

There is sweetness to the air
your valley is near,
could be I’ll stumble
by your house to leave a note
or ring where I learned that
fresh tea is sweet when brewed
for an occasion where eyes meet

and blinks become flutters
a stuttered word divine, because
what would be affirmed in the steep
is the scent of wafting play where
seeping things flow out into
the rivers in two cups
fragrant with cinnamon
and swirly with a word
whispered in the mists
before silence goes to bed

I’ve seen it in a memo.

Ding dong.

— Douglas Gilbert

4 thoughts on “Tea (Draft 5)

  1. Love the revisions. You’ve really been working on a lot of different poems lately. The new additions in the beginning of this help to clarify your climbing separation, I’ve heard it can be cold and lonesome in the mist at the top. I’ll brew a cup of tea to warm your bones when you return – oh sweetness, do you prefer honey or sugar?

    1. Thanks. I’m trying to finish a bunch so I can write up a revised book because maybe I’ll try selling a physical copy on the street — giving out a reference doesn’t seem to work; they go home and cool off. Maybe as soon as I get a compliment of any kind when I’m reading, I should close the deal on the spot… I don’t know.
          Down from the misty mountain all I want is a bubbly you, but as long as your up, I’ll have champagne and a piece of blue cheese please. Oh, but don’t heat up the champagne — I think it loses its bubbles that way. And most of the time I don’t prefer tea bags in the champagne glass, but maybe a ____ [oh, I got lost, I think olives go in martini’s but I don’t think there’s anything that goes in Champagne]

      1. Yeah, hot, flat champagne sounds kinda icky and i don’t think tea bags sound good either but i don’t think the rules are set in stone – if you’d like an olive or an orange or any other fruit or vegetable in your champagne i think i could arrange that. Maybe a plum? I can’t think of any drinks that are topped with a plum. We could start a new trend. Chilled champagne with plum on the rim served by a bubbly me…

    2. That’s great, that’s funny. You can really get into the spirit of things. Plum sounds good… it’s pretty much color matched… and oh yeah, I’m imagining the taste and actually I think it would be compatible…

Leave a Reply

