Quirky from Afar (Draft 2)

Quirky from Afar (Draft 2)

I wonder why you’d die even with the
praise of your fans, and no I’m not
exactly a fan, no not exactly.

I mourn the fallen
song birds at dawn
with oatmeal, but sometimes

lunch is best
at breakfast time
with appetizers at sunrise

Birdies in the dawn
have worldly songs I know,
choreographed for the video

The trouble with the staid world
is that few singers will have an
elegant soup for breakfast,
will not take my silly advice for
the morning lunch of desire

pizza with me, and
anchovies for seagulls
opus no. 4, symphony 2,

won’t minister to the minestrone
and are left with a cereal for the showy birds

I make soup for breakfast sometimes
just to watch the mist fog up the
window glass of dawn
where nothing can be a scene

I have a showy tablespoon
with a fancy engraved handle
for my lonely soups, for sometimes
it’s better to sip carefully than
be scorched with hot sorrow

better to look out the window at
feathers and upper blue cool dawn,
better not listen to orange songs
and be juiced

Screeching birds in the dawn
have angry tears in the rain, secretly
curling up with a soupy turmoil
a noodle that no one is willing
to unravel, and many unwilling
to spoon out comfort to them

These are the famous agonies
I think I know, though
being nobody of renown,
such unseen sorrow has
no publicity value, has no way
to monetize a cry, can not
get this tune on the charts, but
she has a beautiful way
to monetize sorrow

Oh young beautiful girl
who might have been near
where I could have praised
your feathers of flight
your perfume of happiness,
could have spooned out
a dollop and a dabble in magic
like I once thought I had.

I’ve seen you dance
in the bubble and cage
of the obscene show-biz scene
seen many be too serious about trivia

Oh magnificent party girl, don’t die young again,
young girl with the band and groupies

Leave your toady agent and your dreams
and let me be a non-toxic chatty drug
’cause I’d love to sing nonsense with you
because I am profoundly silly, and
I wonder why you’d die even with the
praise of your fans, and no I’m not
exactly a fan, no not exactly, no it’s

just that I’ve heard you scream famously
and I’ve screamed alone, because
I can’t seem to compose the song of my heart
as well as you who is talented, lonely, and sad

Maybe I could’ve been your odd high
the quirky no one who’s not hip
and hears your secret silent cries
that fans and agents never hear
when they feed you any drug of the day
you think you want, and if in a haze
you keep on chirping
I’ll pray for you, because
you are so beautiful and
of course, sexy, but
that’s not the point
though they say it is

Oh hey, I know about loneliness
and when you die young
I will wonder why talent doesn’t matter
and why I never met you

Can’t say if I would have mattered at all
can’t say if I would have been more than a quirk
or a mere jerk, but you will die young probably, and
maybe I would have given you an hour

Urgently
an hour is all I need
to love being with a song
a rhapsody in grace
so blue toned, but I

don’t know why
beautiful girls die young
even when they can sing
sorrowful chirps and dirges on key

— Douglas Gilbert

5 thoughts on “Quirky from Afar (Draft 2)

  1. I eat lunch quite often in place of breakfast…but only because most days I’m working and i don’t eat while i’m working (there’s no time to take a break). I bet your showy tablespoon with the fancy engraved handle is lovely and I agree it IS better to sip carefully than be scorched with hot sorrow. I like the
    “won’t minister to the minestrone”. The ‘min’ words sound nice together…I like all the changes, nice work.

    1. Thanks very much. This is getting long and out of control. It’s beginning to sound more like an essay than a poem, but I suppose I should keep going for awhile and maybe I’ll think of something that can consolidate it all. And it’s becoming dilute and losing its force of emotion — maybe I need some interspersed harbingers of tragedy or something. Well, maybe eventually… it’s beginning to sound like a lecture. Ah phooey, maybe I need to finish the lecture and then after I’ve put it aside I’ll find some emotional core of some kind… Anyway, but in the meantime, I’ve found some more stuff for the next draft:
          I was wandering all over: I’ve heard the “sparrow” used in metaphors but I didn’t actually know what a sparrow is other then a bird. The origin and evolution of the word is interesting. I think if I read it correctly, my dictionary with its cryptic brackets is saying that it ultimately came from an Icelandic word which means “flutterer”. I guess I should get a new paper dictionary with more elaborated derivations and better definitions of modern connotations so I know how to use words in a proper nuanced way because I don’t think I’m ever going to be a great reader of literature; I need a way to read little but fake everything. The online ones don’t even try to elaborate about anything. I think growing up I’d ask, “what’s that”, and the answer was “a bird.” And then I’d see a different one and the answer was “it’s a bird”. What’s that sound? “It’s only a bird. Nothing to worry about.” I sort of stopped being curious about anything because I was told that “annoying” sounds were just supposed to be ignored.

      1. I never knew that sparrow came from the icelandic word “flutterer”. It makes since though since they’re so small and do sort of flutter around being cute all the time. Although, they do act like it’s very serious business so i’m not sure they would appreciate me sounding like it’s all for cuteness-sakes.
        I think you held onto your stifled curiosity well. You still seem curious to me, i mean, you still, listen to “annoying” and “unimportant” songs from creatures like sparrows and dandegirls, right? (giggle) Sometimes people dismiss some things as being unimportant when in all actuality they just don’t understand its significance and how it might relate to them. Eh, i think i should probably wait until i’d had more coffee before I start getting all philosophical and stuff…

    2. Hmm, I bet amongst themselves that the sparrows when they flutter are discussing philosophy. Yes, that’s probably quite a feat to make philosophy cute and sing a premise for discussion… I can’t remember now but I think I read somewhere that originally the butterfly was going to be named the “flutterby” and then someone misunderstood and it became butterfly– yeah, I always wondered what butter had to do with anything.

      1. The cute philosophical sparrows are probably working on a book of ancient sparrow guarded wisdoms that they will someday hand over to their human friends and then this world will do a complete turn around and everyone will live in peace, love and happiness. Well, maybe not – but it’s a nice thought, i mean at this point it’s gonna take something huge (like the wisdom of a small sparrow) to get people to change…
        I’m not sure what butter has to do with anything either. Maybe it wasn’t a misunderstanding at all but just someone who really loved butter and thought there should be something other than just food products with the ‘butter’ name? They were like, “here’s my chance to dedicate something beautiful to my beloved butter” hehe…

Leave a Reply

