Quirky from Afar (Draft 1)

Quirky from Afar (Draft 1)

Screaming screeching birds and
angry tears in the rain, secretly
curling up with a soupy turmoil
that no one is willing
to unravel, and who
can’t spoon out comfort

These are the famous agonies
I think I know, though
being nobody of renown,
such unseen sorrow has
no publicity value, has no way
to monetize a cry, can not
get this tune on the charts, but
she has a beautiful way
to monetize sorrow

Oh young beautiful girl
who might have been near
where I could have praised
your feathers of flight
your perfume of happiness,
could have spooned out
a dollop and a dabble in magic
like I once thought I had.

I’ve seen you dance
in the bubble and cage
of the obscene show-biz scene
seen many be too serious

Oh magnificent party girl, don’t die young again,
young girl with the band and groupies

Leave your toady agent and your dreams
and let me be a non-toxic chatty drug
’cause I’d love to sing nonsense with you
because I am profoundly silly, and
I wonder why you’d die even with the
praise of your fans, and no I’m not
exactly a fan, no not exactly, no it’s

just that I’ve heard you scream famously
and I’ve screamed alone, because
I can’t seem to compose the song of my heart
as well as you who is talented, lonely, and sad

Maybe I could’ve been your odd high
the quirky no one who’s not hip
and hears your secret silent cries
that fans and agents never hear
when they feed you any drug of the day
you think you want, and if in a haze
you keep on chirping
I’ll pray for you, because
you are so beautiful and
of course, sexy, but
that’s not the point
though they say it is

Oh hey, I know about loneliness
and when you die young
I will wonder why talent doesn’t matter
and why I never met you

Can’t say if I would have mattered at all
can’t say if I would have been more than a quirk
or a mere jerk, but you will die young probably, and
maybe I would have given you an hour

Urgently
an hour is all I need
to love being with a song
a rhapsody in grace
so blue toned, but I

don’t know why
beautiful girls die young
even when they can sing
sorrowful chirps and dirges on key

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Quirky from Afar (Draft 1)

  1. I like all of the new changes, it’s coming together nicely. In the first stanza, the ‘soupy’ and ‘spoon out’ work good and I like how you spooned out a dollop in magic later on in the poem. I also like the new ‘urgently’ stanza before the end, the grace and blue toned is lovely. I know that urgent feeling, it doesn’t really seem to dissipate as easily as it should either, it tends to hang on and almost creates a sense of anxiety for the things that were needed so urgently yet were never fulfilled.

    1. Thanks. The more I add, the more it seems to need to hold it together. A scattering and a collecting. I hope this is going to work out. It’s always almost until… well I’m adding another almost… hope it’s going somewhere…

Leave a Reply

