Quirky from Afar (pre-Draft 1)

Quirky from Afar (pre-Draft 1)

Screaming screeching birds and
angry tears in the rain

Oh young beautiful girl
who might have been
where I could have fed
and praised you for
your perfume of being

I’ve seen you dance
in the bubble and cage
of the obscene show-biz scene

Oh magnificent party girl, don’t die young again,
young girl with the band and groupies

Leave your toady agent and your dreams
and let me be your non-toxic chatty drug
’cause I’d love to sing nonsense with you
because I am profoundly silly, and
I wonder why you’d die even with the
praise of your fans, and no I’m not
exactly a fan, no not exactly, no it’s

just that I’ve heard you scream famously
and I’ve screamed alone, because
I can’t seem to compose the song of my heart
as well as you who is talented, lonely, and sad

Maybe I could’ve been your odd high
the quirky no one who’s not hip
and hears your secret silent cries
that fans and agents never hear
when they feed you any drug of the day
you think you want, and if in a haze
you keep on chirping
I’ll pray for you, because
you are so beautiful and
of course, sexy, but
that’s not the point
though they say it is

Oh hey, I know about loneliness
and when you die young
I will wonder why talent doesn’t matter
and why I never met you

Can’t say if I would have mattered at all
can’t say if I would have been more than a quirk
or a mere jerk, but you will die young probably, and
maybe I would have given you an hour

An hour is all I need
to love being with a song

Don’t know why
beautiful girls die young
even when they can
sing their hearts out

— Douglas Gilbert

6 thoughts on “Quirky from Afar (pre-Draft 1)

  1. That’s really sad, the beautiful young celebrity dying young…i liked this a lot: ” ’cause I’d love to sing nonsense with you
    because I am profoundly silly”
    and this
    “just that I’ve heard you scream famously
    and I’ve screamed alone, because
    I can’t seem to compose the song of my heart
    as well as you who is talented, lonely, and sad”
    Great poem even though it’s a sad topic. A lot of celebrities usually come off as egotistical and uncaring about others, so to be able to see more beyond that is a good thing. Sad to die misunderstood and lonesome…it makes me wonder which celebrity your thinking of, very mysterious.

    1. Thanks. It’s all a vague blur. There just have seemed to be a whole bunch. I think they said there were a few who coincidentally all died at 37. But anyway, I think there were many… I was listening to Janis Joplin and some Bonnie and Delaney sad songs… just wrote down something quick for a mood. I don’t like it much — too fast, too plain. But I’ll look at it later and maybe I can fix it, or add to it.

    2. I guess this is like a typical throw away… I feel like I could write something and I jot down something fast… so I have these scraps and I don’t know what I intended and what to do with it. It felt like I meant to say something but whatever it was it’s not there now…

      1. I think it’s a good start, but I understand what you mean when you said you meant to say something but whatever it was it’s not there now. It’s a sad subject though and it makes me fret about my own loneliness a little bit…

    3. Now that I think about it: so many songs are mysterious and ignorant — people are unloved and they don’t know why, they get left and they don’t know why. All the songs say, “We were good and reasonable and they left us for no reason, we just drifted away for no reason, they flirted with another for no reason, we were unfaithful for no reason, our love died for no reason.” Geez, songs about not knowing anything. That doesn’t sound very encouraging.

      1. You have a point there, there is a lot of songs like that…nope – not very encouraging at all. I guess the reward of real love is finding the one who would never be like any of those ‘for no reason’ situations towards you…

Leave a Reply

