Tea (Draft 3)

Tea (Draft 3)

When I’ve wandered in the cold,
I’ve always hoped something would
move me like you do with
approval and encouragement tea,
always hoped, had sanctified
meanders in the cold with thoughts,
hot dreams of you that carried
your stew in my backpack, filled with
drudge stuff, and your precious memorandear
tucked into the pocket for precious notes like gems
something to hold for incantations against
pebbles in the shoes and stumble stones
on the winding up mountain path

Broken trees below the snow line
broken hearts above
misty mountain hawks
splintered memories clawing

Blue skies and fluff at the mountain top.
In a cloud I see your face, a
tea cup and a dove, but

I hear myself scream and
see the grief of my breath
form wispy puffs that fly away

But those sorrows are not of you,
though you do embrace every sparrow,
and when you’d not know
the name of the bird, you’d
christen it cute and lovely like you are

Winding down
there are birds in the sky
and no stumble stones, but
only the scent of tea up my nose
the feel of a memorandear in my pocket

There is sweetness to the air
your valley is near,
could be I’ll stumble
by your house to leave a note
or ring where I learned that
fresh tea is sweet when brewed
for an occasion where eyes meet

and blinks become flutters
a stuttered word divine, because
what would be affirmed in the steep
is the scent of wafting play where
seeping things flow out into
the rivers in two cups
fragrant with cinnamon
and swirly with a word
whispered in the mists
before silence goes to bed

I’ve seen it in a memo.

Ding dong.

— Douglas Gilbert

4 thoughts on “Tea (Draft 3)

  1. I love the new stanza, it made me smile with the sparrow embraces and all the cute lovely birds. If i could learn to chirp and whistle the bird songs I’ve heard on sunny mornings, I’d sing the sweetest one for you…
    Great work on this, it has changed so much since you first posted it.

    1. Thanks, wonderful feedback. When I make changes, I always wonder if I’ve ruined it. I added the broken trees, trying to add something related to your mention of a “broken ego.” Well, it’s not exactly related but the word “broken” gave me some ideas. Thanks.

      1. You know what’s really weird? I noticed the broken trees stanza and thought about it a lot for a moment then convinced myself that it was already there for some reason. I had even went over it so much that i had myself thinking that’s why i wrote about my broken ego in my last comment. Strange…very strange indeed. I am silly sometimes, huh? But i do like the broken trees stanza a lot with the hawks and splintered memories. Oh and you definitely didn’t ruin it, i think it’s wonderful.

    2. Thanks. Actually, it’s not so weird. I can’t think of a specific example right now but I’ve thought about something that happened over and over and then thought the event happened more than once… geez I can’t think of examples right now but I know that a similar process happens in many ways and along similar lines, sometimes upon wakening slowly I wonder if something in a dream really happened. I guess these kinds of processes are related. You can have a fantasy that produces physical reactions in the body as if the body thinks it is real — well, by “the body” I guess I mean the part of the brain that controls such things. Apparently, we have splintered brains so to speak. Yeah, in many things it’s as if we have a thousand mini-brains working separately and then coming together at a brain-conference. I once heard of a study that showed, for example, that when you identify an apple, within less than a second, part of the brain searches through a list of “red things”, another part searches through a list of “edible things”, another through a list of “round things” etc. And then within that fraction of a second, all the information is brought together and it’s determined that it’s an apple. I think scientists determined this by looking at brain scans while a person was thinking of an apple and seeing many parts of the brain active. I think they also got hints from studying stroke victims: I think they saw weird things like some stroke victims who were mostly fine except that they couldn’t identify “red things” or some such very particular category. I don’t remember exact details of the article anymore, but that’s the general flavor of it.

Leave a Reply

