The End of the World

The End of the World

An ice cream volcano in Iceland erupted.
Nobody knows why, but hordes
brought spoons and whipped cream

Many confectionery states went bankrupt
and free ice cream rules, but if everyone
fears the beans of the vanilla, fears
the seeds of the strawberry and
a new flavor with swirls and sprinkles

fear not because all
can look to the skies with glee, and

unidentified flying cows have been seen
their moo’s seeming mournfully sung, and
when their guffaws blow out of ice cream cones
the walls fall on blueberry fields and
pistachios are unshelled

Oh but there is no more shelling
and I hear the trumpets triumphant

Oh glory be the syrupy dawn
the caves are full of chocolate.

— Douglas Gilbert

5 thoughts on “The End of the World

  1. I love the new ending with no more shelling, trumpets triumphant (feels more hopeful) and caves full of chocolate, yum! I almost bought some ice cream and chocolate syrup when i was at the grocery yesterday. I haven’t been keeping ice cream around since it got cold out. I like the addition of the ‘fear not’ line too…i had to go back and check to see if it was already there or not. It fits perfectly and seems like it should’ve been there all along…

    1. [I repeated this because I can’t remember if I put it in right reply box or just listed it plain.]

      Thanks. You inspired the efforts of inserting some optimistic elements. Yeah, I did read about how well Iceland did and it didn’t seem fair to imply anything negative about them, so I think the “many states” eliminates any implication. And I liked your idea of chocolate in caves. Your positive ideas and supportive comments are very helpful in modulating my first notions. I think it might be probable that in the midst of doom you could make me laugh… Well, I imagine it as a noble thing and not as anything negative…I think probably in the auditions for goddess of the silver linings, you could get the part, but I mean that in a positive way not in a Pollyanna way. It’s difficult to write things in text that won’t be open to misinterpretation so I want to say that my feeling is that anything you say has always been intended in the most positive and supportive way. So therefore, continue to say anything, ramble, comment, and I will always take it with a grain of love rather than ever a grain of salt even though I can be salty.

      1. Yeah, i didn’t see your reply until it sent me a notification so maybe i missed it the first time you replied? I don’t know…but i do know that anything i said was intended to be positive and supportive and so i’m glad you interpreted it that way and took it with a grain of love. I’ve been feeling a little salty myself lately and usually i’m as sweet as sugar. I think i’ve got a bad case of the winter blues. Well maybe it’s the all-season blues and i’ve just gotten more bluesy this winter or something. Whatever it is i just can’t shake it lately…blah, i’m sorry. I’m not meaning to be all overly dramatic in my reply back to you. The blah-blues are trying to take over again. I’ll just hush now.

      2. Whew! I’m fine – gosh that was close! I apologize, i almost got sucked completely into the depths of blues-ish-ness. But i’m back now and feeling a little better. I’m all set; all ready to audition for the part of ‘Goddess of Silver Linings’ again. I know i’ve still got some extra silliness and smiles to bring laughter about that can be used to battle the onslaught of impending doom or just to warm a heart on a cold winter’s day…whichever one is fine with me.

    2. Sometimes the ocean looks blue, sometimes green, but in the rising sun, everything is flush, new, and red like an embarrassment of riches and I think somewhere there is an orange bell to be pealed while the fruit of the tasty oranges are peeled one slice of heaven at a chime in time with a ding-a-ling ding dong in loudest murmur humming under-the-breath but voiced in the sonnets of time…. [I don’t like sonnets but it seemed like a good make-belief profundity or something. i don’t know, it sounded like something…]

Leave a Reply

