i wasted hours trying to fix a photo and now what.the orginal was too dark & now i have colorful ugly or something

I wasted hours trying to fix a photo. Lighter,lighter, lighter, over this section and ooops. Get some more color, oops. change color, ugly, ooops. Maybe just change in one area and… clashes with another…/

So now what? I should do a painting from scratch except I can’t paint or draw which is why I’ve been trying to use photos which I apparently can’t do either… now I have to call back the storm and the dredge company and tell them to come back so I can make a new photo… they’re not returning my calls.. this is the original

nice sun but where’s everything else…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “i wasted hours trying to fix a photo and now what.the orginal was too dark & now i have colorful ugly or something

  1. oops, i had a comment started already and i lost it because i clicked on the picture to see it better. I hate when i do stuff like that. But i was saying that i liked both of the pictures, the original and the one you added color to (that looks really nice). I love sunrise and sunset, the way the light falls across the sky and land always makes me much more aware of silhouettes.

    1. Thanks. Oh, I didn’t even know you could click on the photo. Hmm, that’s interesting: I had thought the post was full size, but I just measured it at 4 1/8 in. I made it at 5in. Well, not much difference but it’s a little clearer at 5. Yeah, I like the silhouettes of sunrise and sunsets but in person the human eye seems able to make the sun and foreground both visible in some detail at the same time so that you can still see some details in the shadows. The camera doesn’t seem able to do that — the bright sun shuts down its sensitivity because the sun is too bright but then it’s not sensitive to the dark areas. Hmm, I wonder if they could invent a camera where each pixel is separately adjustable to light conditions. I wonder why cameras of all kinds have always had all kinds of problems. Even today with all the advances, a TV camera can’t show anyone correctly unless they wear makeup, and I think still with movies — the actors don’t look right without makeup. I should have put makeup on the face of the sun and glitter on the beach….I wish I could do the drawing better — I can see how one of the support beams could transform into a creature, and using the lines on the beach I can see how a grand piano could be made. And of course the figure could transform more clearly into a person. Maybe in the distant future I could try such an animation. Or maybe just some vague abstract thing…

      1. I know what you mean, i’ve wondered why the cameras aren’t able to make people look right without the makeup. I do wear makeup – just not a ton of it but when i look at pictures it looks like i’m barely wearing any. I’d feel funny wearing it any thicker just so it would show up better in pictures. They keep adding more and more pixels with the digital cameras but they still don’t seem to process light right.
        ooh a glittery beach sounds nice! So does your animation idea. I’ve got a project i need to get started on. I pulled the old typewriter out of my parent’s basement a while ago. I lightly wiped it off but i really need to restore it, it’s a really neat old typewriter…i should get a picture of it and then i can document my restoration process (if it ever happens). I have no clue how to go about cleaning certain parts of it so i suppose it will be a learning-as-i-go project…

    2. hmm, that’s interesting — an old typewriter. The kind with the hammers? It’s interesting how the old typewriters mechanism is responsible for the way the keys are laid out. They wanted the hammers for the most common letter combinations to be far apart because if you try to type quickly two letters in succession whose hammers are close together they get stuck together. I learned on a mechanical typewriter and I actually had that happen: two hammers came up together banged into each other and got stuck together. The problem is that although the hammers are laid out in a neat row, when it’s time for them to strike they have to hit at the same one striking point while the carriage stands still. Hmm, let’s see, you’re lifting one hammer with the force of one finger, the hammer lifts up, swings to the center striking point, and before it has time to fall down again, another finger could be lifting a different hammer that could meet and catch the other one. Well, anyway, I had a lot of jams where I had to reach in and unjam the hammers that were wedged together.
          I guess you brush off the dust with a small paint brush, use lithium grease for the moving parts and for the engraved letters at the ends of the hammers you can clean off the ink with a q-tip soaked in rubbing alcohol. I think I once used a needle very carefully(so as not to scratch the metal) to get a clump of dried up ink out of the circle of the “e” letter. All the letters with closed loops fill up with ink. But I guess patience with wet and dry cotton swabs is safer. I think they used to have a rubber thing you could push on the letters to clean them but they probably don’t sell equipment for old typewriters anymore. But I don’t know. They don’t even fix old electric typewriters nowadays. I have a very old one that I can’t fix — it just needs a little rubber pad that cushions the fall of the carriage when it comes down after lifting up for the shift mechanism. It looked like it would be easy to find a piece of rubber to glue to that one resting spot. But I couldn’t manage to do it. For someone who knows how to do it, it would take 10 seconds, and 25 cents for a washer or something but they’d probably charge $50 for that. Oh well.
         Back to the mechanical typewriters. You had to really push hard and aim perfectly to the center of every key when you were typing. I didn’t always do that and managed to plunge my finger between the keys (which were on open stalks with deep spaces where your whole finger could disappear).
         I think if you’re careful you can look inside and while you carefully push the key of a working hammer you can see how the mechanism moves and see what needs to be cleaned and greased. I don’t remember but I guess the hammer moves up, strikes, and as it’s moving down, the carriage somehow is triggered to move one space (or maybe it’s the other way around). The space bar I imagine can show you how the carriage moves. When you see what’s moving, you’ll know what to clean. it’s incredible that all the moving wheels are powered by the force of one finger. If it’s working at all you can watch everything that’s moving and that will probably show you how it works.

      1. It’s a really cool old typewriter, though i’m not sure if i’ll ever get it back to functioning like it used to. I learned to type on it when i was in fifth or sixth grade, i remember typing my poems on it and thinking they looked all professional (HA!). But now the hammers get stuck or jammed a lot, they’re really dry and dirty looking. I remember plunging my fingers between the keys too, it sure is a lot different than typing on a computer. I just think it’s getting worse the longer i let it sit without fixing it back up. I pulled it out of the basement last winter and i still haven’t really done much to it besides wipe it with a warm cloth. But over all it’s in decent condition…it just sat in a damp basement for almost twenty years. I took some pictures, i’ll go figure out how to post them so you can see what i’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

