Pens Lost In Digital Snow (Draft 1 sort of) [The Laugh of the Night (expanded Draft 5)]

Pens Lost in Digital Snow 1

(The Laugh of the Night 5)

Seals and polar bears swimming.
Pens of explorers lost.

Many digital articles on Eskimos
laughing together
transcribed from pen works, but
not much left from
writings in the snow.

Ambiguity must be earned, for
never would one know
there’s no flower in the snow.

Returning to the laughing igloo
he brings home the food and fur
of a work without a pen

Spear and club are shrug-ugly
piercing the seal in blood
opening the seals of soul, a muddy
ambiguity of his spirit to live
to eat, and return to a cyber igloo.

The blessed child is the after-laugh.
Oh such a giggle rainbow, colors that grow
in many modal drawings of love,
in crayons, in finger paints, in ink, in
the paint of explosive jello
and the wiggle of love with cosmic pen
writing in the streak of laughing stars.
Many articles about stars, ice,
the noble hunt, and the warrior
may someday look for
his pen in the snow.

— Douglas Gilbert

3 thoughts on “Pens Lost In Digital Snow (Draft 1 sort of) [The Laugh of the Night (expanded Draft 5)]

  1. I like all that you’ve added on to this. It must be hard to hunt with a spear and club, the warrior sounds like he works so hard for all he provides, I bet when he comes home to the igloo, the warmth of love and laughter soothes his weary bones that ache from the freezing wind during the hunts and battles. I bet there are warm hands to rub his aching back and warm hugs of appreciation and admiration for all he does. Perhaps one day the sun will melt just enough snow for him to easily find his lost pen.
    I don’t know why it’s taking so long for your new poems to show up in my reader. I know i clicked on ‘reader’ a couple of hours ago and it still had “Leap” listed as the last one you posted. It did the same thing to me not too long ago with another one of your poems…hmmm…

    1.     Thanks. Hmm, yes, some features seem to be delayed. Maybe if each website has more than one reader there’s a lot of processing to do and maybe there’s one long line and a back-up of work. I don’t know how they organize it. I know when I load up my page I see at the bottom that it’s loading up information from a lot of different places. The information seems to be stored at scattered websites and then collected together. I don’t understand it. But it looks like there’s lots of places where they can add their delay… whoever “they” are… I have no idea. It looks like different service providers for each feature.
          I think in your comment here, you’ve started to write your own poem. I like the sound of “…the warmth of love and laughter soothes his weary bones that ache…” So you could have a beginning to your own poem along these lines maybe:

      Much is written.
      Much has been done.

      When my warrior comes home to the igloo,
      my warmth of love and laughter soothes his weary bones
      that ache from freezing wind

      hunts and battles.

      warm hands rub his aching back
      warm hugs of admiration

      for all he does. Perhaps one day
      the sun will melt the snow
      and his lost pen will be found.
      I will help him write us a story

  2. It does sound like i was starting to write a poem and i didn’t notice that when i wrote the comment. You must make me be more poetic. I was just imagining that if a warrior were hunting and lugging a seal around then his back would be aching…i know my back would ache from that…I’ll have to work on it after work, it’s already 8:20 and i haven’t even started my morning yoga yet…if i don’t hurry my back will be aching from being left so stiff…

Leave a Reply

