News: Atheist’s Billboards, ” You know it’s a myth “. Extending the logic of the Atheist in Poetry, ” The Last Atheist “

The Last Atheist

You are the only magic
that I believe in,
my dear wife who still prays
when I don’t

Peek-a-boo
I see you
in I.C.U.

I find joy in watching you hug
the many tenets of your faith like
teddy bears of God, because
your cuteness is kind.

You smile
and I see in our flowing eyes
you are my talisman, my
magic pool, and
I swim in you

but stay, and though you pray, I
don’t want a higher power. I
want you to
tell me a story, to
stay with me at my bed, and
I think that

the growing grape
doesn’t care
about the wine, cares not
to make a point — no spirits
in these many things of nature, but

I’m intoxicated by your spirit
your smile. Hug me like
I’m a teddy bear of God
and I make

a toast from the brink of death:
show me the magic
before I go drink oblivion
and tell me the lie
you’ll never leave me

You are the
only magic
I believe in

But I will die
little
a point vanishing
nothing remaining for me.
To myself
I will have never been

and if I ever loved you
I will not know

and if you ever loved me
I will not feel it because
to me, I will have never existed

I will be forever nothing
unless

you could save me forever
not as a memory
but as me, myself
and we — I mind that
I could not kiss you
if I were a mist in time

Show me the magic
or hearty spirits, but

I do not wish to haunt you, and
you deserve more than dust

Must you go from me or
must I go as a vapor?

Show me the magic,
woman of my dreams.
I swim in you.

Before I go far out of my mind
you must tell me a lie:
tell me you are God, though

perhaps
you could be my angel

Perhaps
your spirit will carry me to heaven –

seems plausible
for an angel, and
you are beautiful magic
but

how will I kiss you again
if you won’t teach me
the magic of your tales. Explain the
phosphorescent creatures in your fables
who swim in seas of ineffables
and let me drink your glow
if these be souls

Show me the magic:
any miracle will do.
I believe in you.

Be happy for now, and
don’t miss me.
I will have never been.
Good-bye.

— Douglas Gilbert

4 thoughts on “News: Atheist’s Billboards, ” You know it’s a myth “. Extending the logic of the Atheist in Poetry, ” The Last Atheist “

  1. I’ve aways loved this poem too. I would sit with you by your bedside if I could, and would save you if only i knew how. Unfortunately, i can hardly take care of myself. I’ve been in the hospital for almost a week because my appendix ruptured. Now i have some sort of blockage called an ileus (sp?) no food or drinks by mouth and i’m on a morphine pump for pain. Today i feel better than i have though so hopefully before too long i get to go home. Then I’m not supposed to work for 6 weeks. Maybe i’ll write something good…
    Hope everything is going good with you. I’m kind of spacey so i’m afraid i’m not even very good at commenting right now.

    1. Holy cow, I’m sorry to hear that. I hope you didn’t swallow a cow because that would complicate things. Apparently my guardian angel is not on speaking terms with me because I’ve never heard from her(or him). But if the angel(s) shows up I’ll send them over to you. I hope they can help. I wonder if anyone knows why some appendixes rupture and others never do. I read about native Americans who did a lot of bird hunting with shot guns. Sometimes there were shot gun pellets in the flesh of the birds they cooked and ate and they swallowed some pellets over the years. They did some x-rays for other reasons and found that they often had shot gun pellets in their appendix and yet the appendix did not rupture ever. Did the cow come from the slaughter house or did you shoot it with a shot gun? I don’t know, maybe swallowing spiders is not a good idea either, but I don’t know why you would swallow a fly. Well, it’s lucky they diagnosed it correctly and in time. It could have been thought to be “just” a stomach ache. Yikes, could have been a close call. Spacey is good. Rest and be well. Oh, and I don’t think that swallowing shot gun pellets is good either even if you do a dance with a feather headdress and beat on a drum.

      1. I wanted to respond to this sooner. Even though it made me giggle when i read it, every time i tried to reply i started getting all teary eyed and fighting tears. Nothing you said was sad…but i guess i just was. Something about surgery makes me super depressed. The last 10 days were just horrible. I’m home now though and not crying anymore when i try to reply so that’s a good thing.
        I did think it was just a stomach flu at first…i should’ve went in sooner and maybe i could have caught it before it ruptured. I have a bad scar now on my belly…
        That’s weird that they found shotgun pellets in their appendix and it never ruptured. I don’t think the Doc found any shotgun pellets or anything else weird in my appendix, if he did, he didn’t say anything about it to me. Of course, i honestly am not sure that i could ever shoot anything, even if it was for food. My grandpa was quite the hunter though…so i did eat my fair share of deer when i was a little kid, so ya never know – i guess i could have swallowed a pellet at some point in my life.
        Maybe when i get healed all the way i’ll get a feather headdress and dance to celebrate being well again. Yep, that sounds like a great idea. I could have my own little pow-wow.

Leave a Reply

