From the Loneliest Person On Earth

Writing On Paper

I am so sad that all my papers have turned yellow, and
I’m not even sure if they make pens anymore, but
I remember how much you used to
love my letters and cherished the one
that I dropped from
the cruise ship of loneliness
into the ocean like the TV
twilight node episode with
the globe from outer space that said
“to the loneliest person on Earth”, but
you are too lovely and kind to be that
and I don’t know why you would write
a reply to someone who is silly enough
to throw bottles into the ocean that
many mock as pollution, but I
should not pay a fine when my flotsam
is so finely written in script for
the loveliest person on Earth who
would stand on the beach
and retrieve me from a bottle

— Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “From the Loneliest Person On Earth

  1. I love it! This is a great day…i honestly think it’s one of the best days i’ve had in a while. I woke up in a great mood, was all happy feeling and full of energy all day, even though we were really busy. Then i come home and get to read your beautiful words. I don’t think the ocean minds carrying a bottle if it’s full of words as lovely as yours…

Leave a Reply

