Free Verse Poetry by Douglas Gilbert, Diane writes a poem: ” The Only Man I Could Ever Love “

The Only Man I Could Ever Love

by “Diane”

The only man I could ever love
ran away with my sister

He’s a hard drinkin’ man I know
but he’s always made me high
made me sigh that I love him
and he cried with me like a friend, I
thought so

The only man I could ever love
ran away with my sister

He’s a hard drinkin’ man I know
and they drove into the sunset
off a cliff into death

I will join them ’cause
the farm is damn dry
and the whiskey too

Oh God, I loved him
and my sister too

— Douglas Gilbert

Leave a Reply

