Free Verse Poetry by Douglas Gilbert, Diane writes a poem: “Immunity”

Immunity

by “Diane”

I’d rather play hooky today with a Frisbee toss
than listen to my tyrant boss
the eminent ambassador on
the supercilious committee where
the UN has let him convene

He’s more fluent in babble than most
a host for my inner mocking reveries
where the game can quiet my rage

I’m away without leave, free
in Central Park so far afield
distant from first avenue

Beyond fifty-ninth
I fly my kite
leave blatherskites to bloviate

I think I will
catch the wind, and
contemplate defection

— Douglas Gilbert

Leave a Reply

