When Valentine’s Day Is Poetry in an e-book, Only Crush Me

Only Crush Me

Crushed I am grapeful, but
mirror me not
lest you ferment troubles
be drunk in sorrow

For me be
high in memories
take my joy
like wings to heaven
though reluctantly
I will open your cage of Earth
and in your wake
I will sing like a
blue canary with trumpets
for feathers
showy wet eyes to the sky
looking past secret loneliness
to give you
freedom in heaven

Only crush me
before you go

In this fear full cup of your elixir,
in the spoon splashes I make
stirring your medicine,
I bleary, blurry-eyed peer into fluid depths
seeing you before all sickness
dragging me onto the merry-go-round
you saying it’s not just for children
just be young forever with me
for I will put that laugh of yours
I love so much in a jar
like a firefly, and
in my precious journal of joy
I press flat my saving leaves
near your butterfly kisses
engraved in the pages, you said,
but I am a charlatan unworthy server
because this sadness spilling can’t save you
my only love

I’d be your drink
if I could squeeze salvation
from the fruit of our love;
let me be a grape
that I’d be crushed
for you to drink me well

— Douglas Gilbert

From: Poems of Love Lost and Found

by Douglas Gilbert in the iBookstoresm
*

This book is available for download on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch with iBooks and on your computer with iTunes. Books must be read on an iOS device.

Description

We are glowing with poems because from the journey of a dream I awoke happy, enveloped in you under covers, my Valentine. Enraptured in the blankets of home with you, of you, our embrace is the brightness of us, with us. We are the morning together, together in love. An awakening is here to be for real at home, a peaceful passion, a satisfaction day, not dreaming but being in the lightness of us, with us. We are warm being the morning sun, like banners waving playfully above the river of Love, these extremely rippling, our streaming, child to the river. Ripples of the day, we stream like banners waving playfully above a gentle brook, child to the stream. The child’s babble is joyful enough to be a gurgle in a float-along morning. We splash along, embraced by immersion, the kiss of the day, fantastic and better than a dream.

Leave a Reply

