When Valentine’s Day Is Poetry in an e-book Dandelion

Dandelion

I am so cold in August
trying to be a puff ball like a Dandelion,
wishing you’d look
at the seed ball as you blow:
each seed on little parachute
to carry onto
lawns of possibility.

Weeds wish to land,
embed and grow. But no,
no one will let the weed speak.

I am hot to plant an idea
even in winter.

Where is your greenhouse —
I am not merely fuzz: look closer
I am a soul on a parachute
hoping to land on a soul mate and
not to snag on a
telephone pole or power line.

Lawns are too pretty plain;
let me be a flower in the lapel of love
deserving a puff piece in the journal of fulfillment.

— Douglas Gilbert

From: Poems of Love Lost and Found

by Douglas Gilbert in the iBookstoresm
*

This book is available for download on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch with iBooks and on your computer with iTunes. Books must be read on an iOS device.

Description

We are glowing with poems because from the journey of a dream I awoke happy, enveloped in you under covers, my Valentine. Enraptured in the blankets of home with you, of you, our embrace is the brightness of us, with us. We are the morning together, together in love. An awakening is here to be for real at home, a peaceful passion, a satisfaction day, not dreaming but being in the lightness of us, with us. We are warm being the morning sun, like banners waving playfully above the river of Love, these extremely rippling, our streaming, child to the river. Ripples of the day, we stream like banners waving playfully above a gentle brook, child to the stream. The child’s babble is joyful enough to be a gurgle in a float-along morning. We splash along, embraced by immersion, the kiss of the day, fantastic and better than a dream.

7 thoughts on “When Valentine’s Day Is Poetry in an e-book Dandelion

  1. Love, love, love. (sighs) All of your words are so beautiful…they make me all warm and fluttery, kind of a tingle or a tickle that spreads from head to toe…

    1. Thanks. Yes, I thought I saw it some place: you’ve made good use of “head to toe” in your new poem. I remember as a kid when I looked very closely at a flying piece of fluff: there is a tiny string attached to it where a seed hangs from this tiny parachute. I was very annoyed that no one knew what I was talking about because they never looked that closely. They just assumed that the fluffy white part somehow grew into a dandelion plant. No, a seed hangs from it. They were totally absorbed in their hatred of it ruining their lawns — yes we know fluff ruins our lawn. And lots of kids liked blowing the fluff balls but they were totally focused on the fluff. No one saw the seeds at all (except on a science show on TV where I think I got the idea to look closely). So many times I lost my curiosity because no one wanted to talk about what I thought was important or interesting. Those things destroy the lawn: that’s what’s important to know. Or the magic fluff is what’s important.

  2. I like that you noticed the seed. I don’t know why the finer details on things are often over looked or unimportant to people. Dandelions don’t want to ruin lawns they’re just trying to bloom, to live and to add color. I like the part about you being annoyed. I mean, i don’t like that you were annoyed but i can relate, i’ve felt that way too. Lately my son gets annoyed quite often with other kids at school because they don’t say things right or don’t get what he’s saying. He takes things very literally and corrects others when they say things wrong. I worry that he’s having trouble making friends…though he does have a few good friends so I guess i shouldn’t worry too much.

    1. Yes, a few good friends could make the difference. Being literal can be a problem. When I was very young I didn’t understand sarcasm and banter. When I look back on it I realize that even in the lower grades some teachers were highly sarcastic which I didn’t get at all. I have some isolated memories that are disconnected from any of the surrounding circumstances or context which means it must have been painful. I remember I had trouble with the spelling of “country and county”. When I spelled “county” the teacher said, “There’s no such word.” I can’t remember anything else about that incident except that I couldn’t understand how that was not a word. I must have taken literally some form of sarcasm if I was supposed to spell “country”.

      1. No such word as county? Weird. I live in a county. Wonder what the teacher was talking about?
        Yeah, he’s very literal…when i say something like “what’s the plan, Stan?” Just being silly rhyming words or what-not, he’ll be like “Who’s Stan? Why are you calling me Stan?” I have to explain that i’m just being silly and trying to make him smile and by that time it’s not funny at all. That’s just one of many instances. The poor lil guy is sick today, he woke up at 4:00 am with a 102 degree fever and I have to drag him to work with me because they can’t get anyone else to come in. My boss got all stressed out when i called. I told him if he starts getting sicker while i’m at work I’ll have to leave. I hope he feels better soon.

    2. Well, it’s good that you don’t live in England. The British have this weird rhyming slang custom: they make up a rhyming phrase to go with a dirty word or other taboo term and then they delete the forbidden part and use the nonsensical part to substitute for it. I wish I could remember the recent example I saw of it — it was a word that’s become a common American slang word. But the thing that makes it mysterious is that it evolves from a many word rhyme with the two parts — the clean part and the dirty part — then to the many word clean part and then to one word.
      I hope your son feels better. I once had a 102 fever right after I failed a reading test in school. The doctor said there was nothing wrong. Or at least that was the family mythology story that my mother tells. Too many years have gone by for me to verify that. I’m not sure if stress can cause a fever or if the doctor was too lazy to do any tests or maybe in those days they didn’t have that many tests. I’ve always wondered why our bodies can’t give us a fever on cold days so we wouldn’t have to wear heavy clothing. Because I’m thinking, what if we were not sick from a germ or some other ailment and our bodies gave us a 104 fever right before we went out into the cold without a coat. Wouldn’t we slowly cool down to 98,6 in our core and maybe 68 degrees for our skin like when you cool something hot in the refrigerator– the surface is cool and the interior is hot at least for awhile.

      1. That’s neat…i never knew that about England. That’s weird that they took a whole rhyme down to one word…a pretty inventive way to curse without cursing.
        I hope he feels better too. It was kind of a tough day at work, having to take care of customers when all I wanted to do was take care of my little man. He’s had a bad fever and headache all day, even with the ibuprofen the fever hasn’t broken yet. Then right as we got home he threw up in the car and then on the living room floor. I guess he caught the stomach bug his best friend had last week. I got everything cleaned up, i’m glad i had a hand held carpet steam cleaner for the car. Now he’s just sleeping, when he wakes up he moans and almost cries. It’s breaking my heart. I sat beside him and rubbed his head until he fell asleep…
        hmmm…i’ve heard lots of people say stress can make them sick. So i guess it’s possible. Failing a reading test was probably really stressful especially for someone as good with words as you are. Although there are lots of viruses, half the time when i take him to the dr. they send him home without any medicine and tell me it’s a virus that needs to run it’s course.
        I don’t know if that would work or not with the fever before going out into the cold. I bet it could…don’t a lot of animals have higher body temperatures than we do? They don’t wear coats, well except for their fur. I think i remember the vet saying something about dog’s temperatures being higher. But then every time I run a fever i get goosebumps and really cold feeling, so if i had a fever and went outside i’d probably feel like it was freezing out. hmmm, things to think about.

Leave a Reply

