Selections From “The Xyiwa Poets” by Douglas Gilbert, “Wait On Me”

Wait On Me

I have none:
I was to be

Read to me
my love note–
I am cold in snow away

I live ’till summer, please–
I’m afraid of heaven
for Mom ran me
away to a cheaper
place with a note

promised to come in summer
and no one loves me

she won’t come in time
no one in heaven will love me either

toy with me
I will have, if
a mystery is solved

me up
high enough
to reach a kiss

See you
will I;
would you
love me like a kiss
from heaven

—Douglas Gilbert

Order "The Xyiwa Poets" by Douglas Gilbert by clicking on photo

Paperback book of poetry by Douglas Gilbert. 322 pages, 192 poems.

Douglas Gilbert lived most of his life in a cave, except for a brief period of time in the 1960’s when his spiritual leader and guru, Utcoozhoo, made him join the Xyiwa Poets to provide them with disinformation, because they were in danger of finding one of the secret entrances to the sacred ancient caves. The Xyiwa Poets were a naïve bunch of hippies led by Ziohat who drilled into a rock formation just above the holy chambers so they could have a cave to party in. Ironically, though not in the original founding group, Doug has become the last of the Xyiwa poets. Most of Doug’s poems have been preserved, but just a few of the others’ poems remain.

Books by Douglas Gilbert

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s