Short Stuff by Douglas Gilbert, “You In Me”

YOU IN ME

I woke up to my
longing for you; coffee
bit my dream
I stirred your cream

If I dress to seek you
will I know where
passion gallivants

You haunt me with
your many haunts. I
feel a phantom kiss
and miss the bliss from
flesh and ardor, belief bones
troubles massaged in a love whisper,
soothing music
melodic compassion

I am out to find you
driven like the mating birds;
walking, I hear the coos
but let them fly unknowing
for I have a gift for us:
wait ’til you
see me smile
everywhere I know you

— Douglas Gilbert
Books by Douglas Gilbert

2 thoughts on “Short Stuff by Douglas Gilbert, “You In Me”

Leave a Reply

